StuG Ausf B 1/35

Post all your Smaller Scale RC Tanks, Half Tracks and Vehicles, including build threads here. From below 1/18 to way down as far as you can go, H.O. 1/87th scale or less. Even your Smaller Scale figures are welcome here.
jaxenro
Recruit

StuG Ausf B 1/35

Post by jaxenro »

Starting a new project based on the Dragon kit

So far I have the following coming

Plan to use components from 35rctank

Kit
Fenders
Photo Etch
Shock Absorbers
Track
jaxenro
Recruit

Re: StuG Ausf B 1/35

Post by jaxenro »

Looking at the instructions my plan is to replace the torsion bars with something sturdy with enough flex to let the suspension work. I also plan to use the Aber shocks so they at least slide up and down and replace the "magic tracks" with the modelkasten workable tracks

Looking for a suitable motor gearbox combo to fit was thinking one from one of the Tamiya 1/35 tanks might do

The plan is to replicate the StuG from StuG Abt 226

I am a novice to this RC Tank thing so if you see any flaw in my plans please point them out. As we all know no plan survives first contact so they are subject to change

jaxenro
Recruit

Post by jaxenro »

I purchased this to power it based on the diagram it should just fit the hull is 51mm this is 50mm wide

jaxenro
Recruit

Post by jaxenro »

Question: The gear box is basically 1:50 or 1:200 which do I want? I would like scale speed
Herr Dr. Professor
Lieutenant

Post by Herr Dr. Professor »

The speeds can be calculated mathematically given the motor speed, gear tooth counts, drive sprocket diameter and then a scale ratio. The calculations would be interesting. However, I would build the chassis and running gear and then try the 1:200 reduction to see if I like it. I find "the slower, the better" to be my math-free preference.
Last edited by Herr Dr. Professor on Mon Aug 14, 2023 3:20 am, edited 1 time in total.
jaxenro
Recruit

Post by jaxenro »

I thought of the whole calculate it out thing but asking seemed easier :)