Decision time - Electronics for the Cromwell

Discuss your radio gear here!
macman
Private

Decision time - Electronics for the Cromwell

Post by macman »

My Cromwell needs its electronics, in this I have no experience at all. All my tanks to date run standard HL or WSN electronics and I was thinking of putting a HL 2.4 Ghz system in the Cromwell(and that was me pushing the boat out!!).

However after watching maxmekker' video of his T-34 and King Tiger I was so impressed I'm having a re-think. I have read countless threads on the various solutions, but can't decide.

Questions/Comments:

- I'm using the Taigen recoil and elevation unit. I've had a look and this seems to only be compatible with the RX-18, is that correct?
- Do any of the solutions available have the sound file for a Meteor engine?
- Have the option to make it battle ready
- Independently control the headlight and spotlight
- I'd like to avoid any track recoil
- Be relatively easy to setup, my experience with electronics and soldering irons is basic at best

I'd really appreciate any advice.

Thanks
Axis -H/L Panzer III, H/L Panzer IV, H/L Stug III, H/L Stug III (Schurzen), H/L Panther, H/L Tiger 1(early and late) and a H/L King Tiger(Porsche)
Allies - WSN T-34/85, H/L KV-1, H/L Sherman and a scratch Cromwell(in progress)
(all 1/16th scale)
tomhugill
Captain

Re: Decision time - Electronics for the Cromwell

Post by tomhugill »

I think the IBU might work for you, it's compatible with the taigen recoil and I think Ian has done a meteor engine sound set! The other option might be to rejig the taigen recoil to use a servo. Another option is the Clark benedini option which will give the best sound! YHR has done a Cromwell so the sound set is available for sure!
tomhugill
Captain

Post by tomhugill »