Sherman M4A3 problems

Discuss the good old Heng Long electronics here, whether its mods on them or anything else, it goes here!

Postby AndyC » Sun Nov 15, 2020 12:38 pm

My BiL has landed me with sorting out issues with a HL Sherman he's bought. It's the upgraded version with metal tracks & gears, the sticker in the battery compartment indicates that its 2016. I'm guessing its a v5.3, the transmitter has the machine gun and BB fire buttons on the top.

The tank starts and drives fine, the problem is that operating the left joystick to raise/lower the gun barrel results in the turret turning, operating it to turn the turret produces the correct sound effect but the turret does not turn. Operating the top MG fire button results in the MG sound effect and also starts the barrel elevation motor which then runs continuously. Operating the G button also results in the MG sound effect but does not start the elevation motor. Front lights and MG led don't work. BB fire doesn't work, no recoil.

Wiring looks to be correctly located, faulty receiver?

AndyC
Recruit
 
Posts: 41
Joined: Sat Feb 01, 2020 7:12 pm

Postby Son of a gun-ner » Sun Nov 15, 2020 2:33 pm

I'm guessing this tank was second-hand.
With no way of knowing its past history?
You say it has a 2016 sticker, I'm wondering if that's earlier than v5.3 and its had an electronics swap. If that's the case, the fault could lie with the little eight way socket board in the hull next to the turret rotation. Those boards are not always wired the same way.
It may be worth investigating there first.
User avatar
Son of a gun-ner
TOTM Admin
 
Posts: 4534
Joined: Sun May 07, 2017 8:49 pm
Location: Surrey UK

Postby Son of a gun-ner » Sun Nov 15, 2020 3:06 pm

There is one more thing to consider. It is possible that the wrong controller was supplied.
During the changes Heng Long did to their 2.4gig upgrades, up to and before the 6.0 board, they only changed the way the top hull and turret functions were operated, and therefore only the left stick operations. I'm assuming they didn't change the operating signals from the right stick as lower hull left stick functions were the same during the changes. The only lower hull changes were volume and smoke switching, but that became button operated.
This comes to mind because I once purchased a second hand tank with the incorrect controller.
User avatar
Son of a gun-ner
TOTM Admin
 
Posts: 4534
Joined: Sun May 07, 2017 8:49 pm
Location: Surrey UK

Postby john1970 » Sun Nov 15, 2020 3:55 pm

Dont think its anything wrong with the receiver or transmitter sounds like its not wired properly.
check your 8 pin connections on the upper hull your getting the sounds for the operations but not the actions.

john1970
Lance Corporal
 
Posts: 128
Joined: Sun Jun 02, 2013 2:29 pm

Postby AndyC » Sun Nov 15, 2020 4:28 pm

Thanks for the replies. Yes, he bought it secondhand with no history. Any advice on checking out the 8-way connector wiring?

AndyC
Recruit
 
Posts: 41
Joined: Sat Feb 01, 2020 7:12 pm

Postby john1970 » Sun Nov 15, 2020 4:59 pm

can you post a picture of the upper hull wiring

john1970
Lance Corporal
 
Posts: 128
Joined: Sun Jun 02, 2013 2:29 pm

Postby john1970 » Sun Nov 15, 2020 5:08 pm

Image

if its 5.3 it should look like this
2 pin turret is rotation

john1970
Lance Corporal
 
Posts: 128
Joined: Sun Jun 02, 2013 2:29 pm

Postby AndyC » Sun Nov 15, 2020 5:13 pm

john1970 wrote:can you post a picture of the upper hull wiring
Yep...
Sherman_upper_hull_wiring.jpg
Sherman_upper_hull_wiring.jpg (89.49 KiB) Viewed 307 times

AndyC
Recruit
 
Posts: 41
Joined: Sat Feb 01, 2020 7:12 pm

Postby john1970 » Sun Nov 15, 2020 5:23 pm

ok you have 5.3 8 pin connector but have a pre 5.3 turret your bb gun and elevation are on a 3 pin plug and are plugged into headlights and mg socket your turret rotation is plugged into gun elevation.
remove the 3 pin plug and move the rotation unit plug 1 across then check if you have lights,mg and rotation working

EDIT

its possible the tank has be upgraded from 27mhz to 2,4ghz but they didnt know how to wire the turret

john1970
Lance Corporal
 
Posts: 128
Joined: Sun Jun 02, 2013 2:29 pm

Postby AndyC » Sun Nov 15, 2020 5:34 pm

john1970 wrote:ok you have 5.3 8 pin connector but have a pre 5.3 turret your bb gun and elevation are on a 3 pin plug and are plugged into headlights and mg socket your turret rotation is plugged into gun elevation.
remove the 3 pin plug and move the rotation unit plug 1 across then check if you have lights,mg and rotation working

No lights, mg led or turret rotation :(

EDIT

its possible the tank has be upgraded from 27mhz to 2,4ghz but they didnt know how to wire the turret

I think so - just found the instruction book in the box, it's for the 27MHz crystal version...

AndyC
Recruit
 
Posts: 41
Joined: Sat Feb 01, 2020 7:12 pm

Postby john1970 » Sun Nov 15, 2020 5:38 pm

does the controller look like this


Image

this is the 5.3 controller if its not like this you have the wrong 8 pin connector

john1970
Lance Corporal
 
Posts: 128
Joined: Sun Jun 02, 2013 2:29 pm

Postby AndyC » Sun Nov 15, 2020 6:16 pm

Yes, that's the controller.

AndyC
Recruit
 
Posts: 41
Joined: Sat Feb 01, 2020 7:12 pm

Postby john1970 » Sun Nov 15, 2020 6:29 pm

going by what you've said and the picture posted the rotation was working when you elevated the gun because the rotation unit was plugged into the elevation unit socket but isnt working when plugged into the next socket along which is the right socket.

the elevation was working when you pressed mg because you had the elevation and bb gun plugged into the lights and mg socket so the mg circuit works since its been upgraded i would check the wires soldered to the other side of the 8 pin connector

john1970
Lance Corporal
 
Posts: 128
Joined: Sun Jun 02, 2013 2:29 pm

Postby AndyC » Sun Nov 15, 2020 6:48 pm

OK, I'm going to come back to this tomorrow, and see if I can track down any wiring diagrams...

AndyC
Recruit
 
Posts: 41
Joined: Sat Feb 01, 2020 7:12 pm

Postby john1970 » Sun Nov 15, 2020 8:56 pm

its possible you might have a few burn out circuits on the board if the rotation unit isnt working in its own plug 1 way to get it working is put it into the elevation unit plug also why go to the trouble of wiring up the headlights if they dont work.

john1970
Lance Corporal
 
Posts: 128
Joined: Sun Jun 02, 2013 2:29 pm

Postby tinytim » Mon Nov 16, 2020 1:56 pm

hi
got me a brand new t72 hl 2 weeks ago messing with the controller as i do lol pressed the v and k buttons at the same time and got the same problem described here so pressed the buttons again and all went back to normal so try pushing the v and k to see if that works

tinytim
Recruit
 
Posts: 9
Joined: Thu Nov 12, 2020 4:54 pm

Postby AndyC » Mon Nov 16, 2020 5:40 pm

What I've found now is that when operating the left joystick for turret rotation there is 7.2v to the middle 2-pin socket without the turret motor plugged in, with it plugged in there is no voltage present. To me this indicates a faulty mfu? The turret motor is ok because it does work when plugged into the elevation socket.

AndyC
Recruit
 
Posts: 41
Joined: Sat Feb 01, 2020 7:12 pm

Postby Jofaur86 » Mon Nov 16, 2020 6:00 pm

Hello :'(
I don't know if I can help, but here are several Heng Long diagrams
468B256C-0AB5-4F9A-BB48-183892D96086.jpeg
468B256C-0AB5-4F9A-BB48-183892D96086.jpeg (47 KiB) Viewed 202 times

check that the colors of the 8-wire cord correspond to this, compared to the small plugs?

Jofaur86
Corporal
 
Posts: 446
Joined: Wed Dec 26, 2018 12:28 am

Postby Jofaur86 » Mon Nov 16, 2020 6:09 pm

Vidéo YouTube.... sorry, but in german 8O
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=YOwmgja9vl8

Jofaur86
Corporal
 
Posts: 446
Joined: Wed Dec 26, 2018 12:28 am

Postby AndyC » Tue Nov 17, 2020 12:54 pm

Right - after a bit of head scratching and researching wiring I've got it - mostly - working.

2 issues remain, the turret rotate doesn't work. This appears to be a problem with the mfu, as I surmised yesterday. Anyone got a good one for sale?

The front and MG leds don't work. There is 7.2v going to to them, I assume there should only be about 3v so they've blown I guess. Is the 5.3 mfu 'supposed' to provide 7.2v to the leds? If so, should there be a resistor in the common +ve (what value?) or should different leds be used? If not, then that's another issue with the mfu.

AndyC
Recruit
 
Posts: 41
Joined: Sat Feb 01, 2020 7:12 pm

Next

Return to Heng Long

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests