Hello. Newbie here.

New to the forum? Introduce yourself here.
Mithras
Corporal

Hello. Newbie here.

Post by Mithras »

Hi, everyone.

I’m a long time miniatures gamer and an historical archaeologist with a focus (mostly) on military history. I’m currently located in the states, and have tried to get into RC tank and Warship combat several times but have had no luck finding local groups.

My wife and I intend to move to the UK, likely permanently, in the next year, and I’m hoping this will be a chance for me to get to know a few friends and participate in the hobby. I’m certainly willing to learn any skills I don’t possess. Glasgow and York look most likely at the moment, but wiling to travel.

In terms of tanks, I’m particularly interested in Great War armor and several unusual bits and bobs (Interwar tanks, Japanese, Hungarian, and Italian tanks, etc.) Ideally, it’d be a lot of fun to get one of those going (an Austro-Hungarian Romfell would be lovely, but I suspect that’s something I would have to build, myself, at some point.)

Does anyone offer Great War, Japanese, Italian, or Hungarian tanks? Maybe conversion kits for T-55 Enigmas? Maybe somebody somewhere has a Ukrainian T-64?

Honestly, I’ve seen plenty of interesting looking ready-built kits (there’s an interesting UN Leopard on EBay, and I’ve seen several nice looking Sturmtigers), but I am a complete novice and I’m sure there are big lemons out there.

Would be grateful for any pointers. I hope to meet some of you in the near future.

- Alex
"I have seen the first of the new tanks today. They are beautiful."
- Annibale "Electric Beard" Bergonzoli, upon the first delivery of M11/39s to Libya, 1940.
tankme
Warrant Officer 1st Class

Re: Hello. Newbie here.

Post by tankme »

Welcome.

If you have a 3D printer there is a T64BV: https://cults3d.com/en/3d-model/various/t-64-bv

Most of the tanks you mentioned are not readily available and would be custom builds.
Derek
Too many project builds to list...