My Hunting Panther

MrChef
Warrant Officer 2nd Class

My Hunting Panther

Post by MrChef »

So here goes with my first documented project. A Heng Long Jagdpanther Pro.

Follow me tear down a perfectly good brand new RC model with the goal of customizing it for myself. I'll share every step and feel free to give me advice or ask me anything. I am a NEWBIE so please be gentle. I am here to learn as well as share. While I am adventurous in this new hobby my skills and tools are limited so don't expect me cutting and re-engineering the front hull like Jnewboy customs. Baby steps please. Enjoy, I sure am.

Chef

When last we left in the Show off catagory Mr. HERMAN BIX correctly identified my newly delivered box as a Jagdpanther!

Lets see my Birthday gift-

Let's compare her to her Panther G sister-
Ohh that Panther G is a dirty girl.

Here have your own spotlight-

I think the new girl needs a name, any suggestions?
"Charlie don't surf"- Lt. Col. Bill Kilgore
MrChef

Re: My Hunting Panther

Post by MrChef »

So I did the unboxing. Everything was in good shape and included. I popped in a battery that I already had charged and ran the model through it's test phase to make sure all the functions worked properly. CHECK! All good there.

Then while looking at her more closely I noticed that the track on one side and metal sprocket and idler wheel were hazy, kinda looked corroded. I'd never seen this before on any of my previous metal models and when I did searches on several different forums couldn't find any posts dealing with the same issue as me. Take a look-

Sooo what to do? Call and complain to the seller? Nahhh I figure I could clean it because as you guys know I like to blue/blacken my tracks. And at the very worst I'll just paint them.

Which leads me to: WHAT WOULD YOU DO? OR USE TO CLEAN THEM OR HOW WOULD YOU GO ABOUT FIXING THIS?
HERMAN BIX
Brigadier

Post by HERMAN BIX »