Chi-nu RC tank

All things 3D printing. Printers, design, CAD, hints and tips, models built.
GrubbyClubby
Recruit

Chi-nu RC tank

Post by GrubbyClubby »

I thought I would show this here.
I'm new to professional CAD (have used tinkerCAD to make a moveable MvM tank from tf2 before however) and have been using fusion 360 for roughly 2-3 months and started to 3d model an RC chi-nu tank.
What do you guys think?

Just the turret has taken me roughly 1.5 months, I'm slowly working on the hull and the function, I'm designing my own gearbox for this.

If anything looks off please tell me!
Attachments
muzzle_break.PNG
Capture.PNG
front.png
front.png (80.69 KiB) Viewed 702 times
detail_3.PNG
back hatches open.png
Turret_Hatches_open.PNG
turret_2.PNG
PershingLover
Corporal

Re: Chi-nu RC tank

Post by PershingLover »

The render looks superb! Try as I might, CAD still alludes me, but you've definitely got it! Can't wait to the see the rest.
Jarlath
Corporal

Post by Jarlath »

I've not used Fusion 360 (I'm a Unigraphics/Pro-E guy), but if this is your first attempt at such a complex model.
I'll give you a couple words of advice.
1. Plan it out. I mean decide what are necessary details to model. Example, your turret looks spectacular in CAD. However, you have modeled in the rifling (which looks straight instead of curved, but could just be the angle). Are you planning on having the physical construction have rifling? Do you need to model the chains on the cannon cradle? Do you bother modeling in bolt heads or add them later?

2. Plan it out again. What do you need internally? Braces? Supports for elevation/recoil? Strength/Mass/Durability?