Learning necessary electronic and mechanical skills/components needed for a build?

Talk about all other types of electronics here, such as batteries!
Mithras
Corporal

Learning necessary electronic and mechanical skills/components needed for a build?

Post by Mithras »

Hi. Not sure where to ask: figured this would be the right section.

I’m somewhat experienced as a modeler. I’ve been looking at RC ready kits and believe I have the skill to build some of them. However, I have no experience with building the proper motor setup, servos, or electronics.

I don’t do well with video tutorials. What I was hoping to find would be some kind of guide for this sort of thing. I’ve seen the guide here for building battle systems, but what I need is something of a comprehensive step by step for everything. For example, “This is how to make an RC ready kit move, shoot, and run.”

Can anyone help me with something like this?

- M.
"I have seen the first of the new tanks today. They are beautiful."
- Annibale "Electric Beard" Bergonzoli, upon the first delivery of M11/39s to Libya, 1940.
Raminator
Warrant Officer 2nd Class

Re: Learning necessary electronic and mechanical skills/components needed for a build?

Post by Raminator »

You might be overthinking it a bit, mate.

There aren't really those kinds of resources available; this is a niche hobby at best, and the number of people who are kitbashing or scratchbuilding are a fraction of those. There are some videos around (mostly platform- or vendor-specific), but nothing really in the way of written/illustrated articles or guides. Your best bet is to search around on the forums here, check up on others' builds, ask questions and have a look at how RTR models are set up. If you've done anything remotely technical before (even building a Lego set!) you'll be able to figure out how stuff goes together. If you ever get stuck, everyone here's happy to help out!
jee
Staff Sergeant