[Winter] SU76i based on a Panzer III

This section is for builds done in groups and collaboration on projects!
jee
Staff Sergeant

[Winter] SU76i based on a Panzer III

Post by jee »

Great idea from our Herr Dr to set up this group build.
I knew there was a reason why I didnt finish this build :D

So to present you my project, I have to go back for 2 years. At the moment I have 2 german tanks and only 1 Soviet tank. I had to find another Soviet tank to balance it. I found on Cults a nice conversion kit to update a Panzer III to a SU76i.
I bought the conversion kit, and then it took some time to find the chassis on Aliexpress. But I managed and ordered both parts seperately by the way.

After printing the conversion kit on the 3D printer, I studied the parts and decided that some of the parts were a bit to simple and rough. I designed them new and printed these.

Some pictures to show the current state:

Chassis. As you can see, some gear is still inside and that stays there and will be used except for the smoke system. Also I already removed some bodyparts, but more has to be done. Anybody who has good tips on removing the tools from the fenders, please let me know.
IMG-20231102-WA0015_cr.jpg
IMG-20231102-WA0015_cr.jpg (124.85 KiB) Viewed 783 times
The printed conversion kit. I still want to change some parts of it, like the hatch on the back, it cant be opened, but I would like that to work.
IMG-20231102-WA0011_cr.jpg
IMG-20231102-WA0011_cr.jpg (66.96 KiB) Viewed 783 times
Current situation, still a lot to do
IMG-20231102-WA0010_cr.jpg
IMG-20231102-WA0010_cr.jpg (96.6 KiB) Viewed 783 times
Last edited by jee on Thu Nov 02, 2023 1:19 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Regards,
Jaap :wave:
jee
Staff Sergeant

Re: [Winter] SU76i based on a Panzer III

Post by jee »

Some more info about the |Su76i:

The Red Army’s Panzer III 76mm SPG