Really sorry to have to ask this.....

Discuss the good old Heng Long electronics here, whether its mods on them or anything else, it goes here!
Ratrace
Recruit

Really sorry to have to ask this.....

Post by Ratrace »

As you may know I am a complete newbie to the rc world, I have the Heng Long Sherman with V7.0 electrical gubbins.

Now, I have spent most (yes most :'( ) of today trying to find a suitable extra battery for it, apparently the stock battery is a 1800mah (?) LiPo.
After searching this site and several others and reading god only knows how many conflicting posts I am now of the opinion that these LiPo thingies are going to explode or burn my house down... 8O surely this cannot be true? do you really need fireproof bags etc to charge them ?

Next up was Nimh.....again a bit of a minefield & even less of them come with the same XT60 connector.

I'm not going to be using the tank in any competions , I just want to have some fun around the house & garden but for longer than the 20ish minutes that I currently get, I might get another tank in the future so we can have some "family battles" in the summer so having some form of backups would be needed.

All that I've achieved today is to totally confuse and dishearten myself... :crazy:

I would be eternally grateful if any of you could actually point me in the right direction of a UK stockist for suitable batteries and charger to suit.

I'm going for a lie down now, my head hurts, :headbang:
Kaczor
Warrant Officer 1st Class

Re: Really sorry to have to ask this.....

Post by Kaczor »

LiPos are safe if you are using them properly.
phpBB [video]
Jofaur86

Post by Jofaur86 »

Good evening, you will find attached an extract from the Blog of "Rad" with all the explanations on the different types of batteries. For the sockets, it is easy to change them, especially since the Tamiyas often generalized, are not Top, level of contacts and reliability
https://radindustries.wordpress.com/201 ... batteries/
jarndice