Bedford MWD 1/16 RC Scratch build

This board is for you people out their who would like to discuss RC cars and trucks
AlwynTurner
2nd Lieutenant

Bedford MWD 1/16 RC Scratch build

Post by AlwynTurner »

Hi, I decided to scratch build a 1/16 Bedford MWD by buying a cheap rc jeep, canibalising it for all the working bits and building my own body. Here is how it's progressed.
Donor jeep

Working chassis

Load bed and start of cab

Starting to look like a bedford!

I will update as it progresses.
YOU'RE NEVER TOO OLD TO HAVE A HAPPY CHILDHOOD!

Saladin scratchbuild, Matilda scratchbuild, Churchill scratchbuild, Crusader scratchbuild, M10 Achiĺles scratchbuild, Universal Carrier scratchbuild
AlwynTurner
2nd Lieutenant

Re: Bedford MWD 1/16 RC Scratch build

Post by AlwynTurner »

I have used the cheap jeep to keep build costs down but eventually want to upgrade the running gear to proper rc. My handicap is as a newbie I'm not sure where to start and am on a small budget so don't want to waste money where I can perhaps find some cheap solutions. Can anyone recommend a good beginners rc book that covers vehicles and maybe boats - I don't want an rc book for aircraft or anything vastly overcomplicated, just the basics. I'm particularly interested in using small components (preferably inexpensive) so that I can model smaller vehicles.

Thanks

Saladin scratchbuild, Matilda scratchbuild, Churchill scratchbuild, Crusader scratchbuild, M10 Achiĺles scratchbuild, Universal Carrier scratchbuild
wibblywobbly
Major

Post by wibblywobbly »

Did you say 'newbie', good grief you are building a great model. 8O

RC running gear for a jeep could be quite cheap. It depends whether you want sound or not?

A basic esc that will drive the motor can be had off Ebay for very little money, plenty of of used ones come up on there.