Servos in Taigen V3

Talk about all other types of electronics here, such as batteries!
Post Reply
Meter rat
Staff Sergeant
Posts: 818
Joined: Wed Aug 05, 2020 7:33 pm
Location: By the sea in Argyle and Bute

Servos in Taigen V3

Post by Meter rat »

Help needed please.
Fed up with the stupid gun elevation on the Taigen V3. Move control stick down, for the gun to go down and eventually up. Secondly the elevation and depression is poor. The V3 has ports indicating 6 channels. The plugs are different to servo plug, but it did come with plugs into the board and a servo plug on the other end. Can these boards be used with servos, and if so how do you do it?
User avatar
Herr Dr. Professor
Lieutenant
Posts: 3294
Joined: Mon Apr 22, 2019 10:48 pm
Location: Southern Wisconsin USA

Re: Servos in Taigen V3

Post by Herr Dr. Professor »

This is the best I can find: https://www.taigentanks.com/products/ta ... ose-sounds

Unfortunately, see also viewtopic.php?p=337192
User avatar
HERMAN BIX
Brigadier
Posts: 10122
Joined: Sun Jan 12, 2014 12:15 am
Location: Gold Coast,Australia

Re: Servos in Taigen V3

Post by HERMAN BIX »

I too am in a the same proverbial boat.
Can someone thats done it please do a step by step for us electro-tards !!!!
HL JAGDPANTHER,HL TIGER 1,HL PzIII MUNITIONSCHLEPPER, HL KT OCTOPUS,HL PANTHER ZU-FUSS,HL STuG III,HL T34/85 BEDSPRING,
HL PZIV MALTA,MATORRO JAGDTIGER,HL F05 TIGER,TAMIYA KT,HL PANTHERDOZER,HL EARLY PANTHER G,TAIGEN/RAMINATOR T34/76,
HL AN-BRI-RAM SU-85
User avatar
tankme
Warrant Officer 1st Class
Posts: 1896
Joined: Tue Oct 31, 2017 3:51 pm
Location: Elgin, TX
Contact:

Re: Servos in Taigen V3

Post by tankme »

Unfortunately, the Taigen boards do not have servo outputs. They typically use the Asiatam elevation/recoil which is motor driven - not servos. I have removed every Asiatam elevation unit from my tanks as I despise them.
Derek
Too many project builds to list...
User avatar
Kaczor
Warrant Officer 1st Class
Posts: 1717
Joined: Fri May 18, 2018 9:58 am
Location: Ciechanow, Poland
Contact:

Re: Servos in Taigen V3

Post by Kaczor »

I don't mind mechanical recoil and elevation as it work perfectly with Beier.

Newest Taigen tanks use servo recol and elevation via this board:
https://www.rctank.de/Taigen-servo-and- ... cuit-board

Out of curiosity, I bought it but I have no idea how to connect it. There are no instructions anywhere!
User avatar
Herr Dr. Professor
Lieutenant
Posts: 3294
Joined: Mon Apr 22, 2019 10:48 pm
Location: Southern Wisconsin USA

Re: Servos in Taigen V3

Post by Herr Dr. Professor »

Kaczor: I think I understand: there's a new Taigen daughterboard for servo elevation and recoil, right? So then, this board must connect to the Taigen V3 board and then to the servos. Is that correct?
If it is so, and although it may be trouble, would you be willing to start a thread showing how this new board adds to the Taigen V3 board and sound module? Does it go into the turret?
If I am getting this correct, it could be a real boon to me because I have a number of Taigen V3 and V3 upgrades. It would also mean that Taigen is still alive, even if the Taigen seller/distributor here in the U.S. is behind.
User avatar
Kaczor
Warrant Officer 1st Class
Posts: 1717
Joined: Fri May 18, 2018 9:58 am
Location: Ciechanow, Poland
Contact:

Re: Servos in Taigen V3

Post by Kaczor »

Also this board should be powered somehow...
Meter rat
Staff Sergeant
Posts: 818
Joined: Wed Aug 05, 2020 7:33 pm
Location: By the sea in Argyle and Bute

Re: Servos in Taigen V3

Post by Meter rat »

Oh yes! I seem to be in the same position as Herr Prof. Only I am more thicker when it comes to electronics.
john1970
Corporal
Posts: 367
Joined: Sun Jun 02, 2013 2:29 pm

Re: Servos in Taigen V3

Post by john1970 »

The taigen board is just a 2.4ghz version of the old RX18 and hasn't really moved on from that it became out of date when heng long brought out the TK6/6.1. The only good thing about it is the sound cards.
john1970
Corporal
Posts: 367
Joined: Sun Jun 02, 2013 2:29 pm

Re: Servos in Taigen V3

Post by john1970 »

I did find this tho so it might be useful as an ESC
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=afDuA3UL4eg
Post Reply

Return to “Other electronics”