My radio mods / Programming tips and ideas.

Talk about all other types of electronics here, such as batteries!

Postby Rad_Schuhart » Fri Jun 28, 2019 8:58 am

Well, some more news here.

I think I have already commented it somewhere, but here it goes again, I dont want to use LIPO batteries anymore. I had a couple puffing, and when driving the tanks me or my sons the tanks I am more worried about overdischarging (and exploding) the batteries than actualy enjoying it.

I experimented with Nimhs, but the self discharge rate is too high and it is not too reliable for me. I want to have the radio fully charged and to have it ready to use. No matter if I charged the batteries one day or three months before.

So I jumped into 18650 Li ion batteries, and I did 2 cell packs. When fully charged, those two batteries together give 8.4volts, and the radio needs only 5 volts, so it means it works. I got some chip protected 18650s batteries, so no overcharge or overdischarge is possible.

I cant be happier now. It is ugly, but after testing them for some time I can really say it works, and works very good.

It seems those 18650s are the future. Those are used in laptops, tesla cars, electric bikes, power banks and so on.
I will keep testing them, and if they work well, I will fit 4 of them in my tanks, giving me an oustanding 7.000 mah of battery. About 6 hours of use non stop.

Do I drive my tanks 6 hours non stop? YES, sometimes I do, lol.

178de873-9aad-42bf-807e-ca6aaf6f248b.jpg


862afb05-0622-4632-89c6-3236cbf71e69.jpg
862afb05-0622-4632-89c6-3236cbf71e69.jpg (61.54 KiB) Viewed 950 times
User avatar
Rad_Schuhart
Warrant Officer 1st Class
 
Posts: 1640
Joined: Tue Jan 19, 2016 10:22 am
Location: Spanish living in Graz, Austria. Heart in UK.

Postby General Jumbo01 » Fri Jun 28, 2019 7:04 pm

I too am using these cells to power my Torro WSN tanks, 3 cells give you around 11.4v nominal, the same sort of voltage as the 8 AA cells recommended and they fit into the small battery compartment. However, l doubt your mah figures are correct. If wired in parallel you will increase the mah but only get the normal voltage 3.7v, not enough. When wired in series (end to end) you gain voltage but do NOT increase mah. In addition, the claimed mah printed on many of these cells is much exaggerated - mine claim 4000mah but its more like 1800. I can understand your apparent confusion as my retailer, Banggood, claims that if you use two cells you double both voltage AND mah! Not very helpful or truthful.

Still worth a look though. I'd recommend reliable retailers who sell genuine branded examples.
User avatar
General Jumbo01
Warrant Officer 2nd Class
 
Posts: 1134
Joined: Sat Jul 14, 2018 8:06 pm
Location: I'm a Londoner that moved to Essex. Says it all really...:(

Postby Rad_Schuhart » Fri Jun 28, 2019 8:08 pm

General Jumbo01 wrote:I too am using these cells to power my Torro WSN tanks, 3 cells give you around 11.4v nominal, the same sort of voltage as the 8 AA cells recommended and they fit into the small battery compartment. However, l doubt your mah figures are correct. If wired in parallel you will increase the mah but only get the normal voltage 3.7v, not enough. When wired in series (end to end) you gain voltage but do NOT increase mah. In addition, the claimed mah printed on many of these cells is much exaggerated - mine claim 4000mah but its more like 1800. I can understand your apparent confusion as my retailer, Banggood, claims that if you use two cells you double both voltage AND mah! Not very helpful or truthful.

Still worth a look though. I'd recommend reliable retailers who sell genuine branded examples.


Thanks for the usefull input but I have that under control, lol. Rule number one of aliexpress batteries, the ampers are usually exagerated. That why is so important to get official batteries from good brands like samsung, lg, panasonic and so on.

The ones I got, are 3.500. I charged and discharged them and I checked the mah, 3.400ish so it is pretty acurrate to the 3.500 they claim.

In the radio I have two batteries in series, so I double the voltage and I keep the +-3.500 mah (which is eternal for the radio, lol.)

In the tanks I am planning to wire 4 cells, 2 in series and 2 in paralel, and that will give me about 8.4v and 7.000 mah. Size would be like a 2S lipo, or 6s nimh.

But as I said, be sure to get original batteries!
User avatar
Rad_Schuhart
Warrant Officer 1st Class
 
Posts: 1640
Joined: Tue Jan 19, 2016 10:22 am
Location: Spanish living in Graz, Austria. Heart in UK.

Postby Rad_Schuhart » Fri Sep 13, 2019 8:54 am

Not sure if somebody will find this interesting, but I programmed the radio to play the 24 user sounds from the elmod.

phpBB [video]


It says in german:
Ahead!
Stop!
Left!
Right!
Go back!
Fire!
There is no other option, attack! attack!
For the motherland!
Hold your fire!
Focus people, look from where the shoots are comming
Better you than us
-Radio chatter.
Horn
Waiting for orders!

And then several music pieces ranging from german marches to classic pieces, or conan the barbarian soundtrack.
User avatar
Rad_Schuhart
Warrant Officer 1st Class
 
Posts: 1640
Joined: Tue Jan 19, 2016 10:22 am
Location: Spanish living in Graz, Austria. Heart in UK.

Postby Rad_Schuhart » Tue Nov 19, 2019 9:17 pm

When I thought it was not possible to add anything else to my radio, I discovered I can add two potentiometers more!
So I ordered some, and they will be delivered in one week or so. I will have 4 potentiometers.

Do I need them?

YES! I do.
One controls the volume of the tank. Another controls the smoke machine, and the two new will rotate the cuppolas in my T54 tank.
The radio came with three pots, but years ago I had to replace one of them with a 6 pos switch (one of my best mods) but lacking one pot pissed me a bit. Now I will have it back and another extra. I am super happy!


I will upload pics when it is working :)
User avatar
Rad_Schuhart
Warrant Officer 1st Class
 
Posts: 1640
Joined: Tue Jan 19, 2016 10:22 am
Location: Spanish living in Graz, Austria. Heart in UK.

Postby jarndice » Tue Nov 19, 2019 11:02 pm

I remember the day my brand new Turnigy TGY9X was delivered,
I was thinking what on earth will I do with 3 yes THREE rotary controls :thumbup: :thumbup: ,
Up till then my best Transmitter was a Spectrum Dx6i which of course did not have any rotary controls and I had been fine with that,
I began to realise that there was more to R/C than I had previously been aware.
A decent programmable radio is the doorway to the world of sound and servos,
Now I read up on any newly released radio with a lot more interest than I ever did before the TGY9X came into my workshop.
It is obsolete now but I have learnt a lot from it and I shall keep hold of it for bit longer.
User avatar
jarndice
Major
 
Posts: 6098
Joined: Mon Sep 03, 2012 11:27 am
Location: the mountains of hertfordshire

Postby Rad_Schuhart » Wed Nov 20, 2019 9:33 am

jarndice wrote:I remember the day my brand new Turnigy TGY9X was delivered,
I was thinking what on earth will I do with 3 yes THREE rotary controls :thumbup: :thumbup: ,
Up till then my best Transmitter was a Spectrum Dx6i which of course did not have any rotary controls and I had been fine with that,
I began to realise that there was more to R/C than I had previously been aware.
A decent programmable radio is the doorway to the world of sound and servos,
Now I read up on any newly released radio with a lot more interest than I ever did before the TGY9X came into my workshop.
It is obsolete now but I have learnt a lot from it and I shall keep hold of it for bit longer.


Funny thing you mention this. My first hobby radio was the 9x (Which I flashed with er9x (MUST mod)), and my first board was the RC5HL from rc tanks australia so I was able to control my 27mhz tank with a hobby grade transmitter. I had tons of switches which I was never, ever, going to use. I just needed one for switching the motor on, that was all. Then I started toying with it. One switch went to the main cannon. Another to the machine gun... Then I discovered I can switch two lights, so two switches more were needed....

Then I got an Ibu 2. I needed a pot for the volume, and another switch for the user sounds. After some programming all the IBU functions were trigged with switches with absolutelly no use of sticks at all, very satisfactory. A lot of the switches that I was never ever going to use were half occupied by that day.

Some time later the ASP2 appeared in the market, and after talking with Kevin I learnt that I needed to modify all my switches to have 3 position ones, because the radio just had not enough switches for so many functions! It was mind blowing but well worth it.

After the ASP, I understood I needed even more things, so I ended with I think it was about 50 positions in the switches and 4 pots! And now I am not sure if I might need more in the future. Thanks to God we have the logical switches so the combinations are virtually infinite. This is very advanced programming that I will explain at some point.

Anyway the 9x radio is indeed obsolete and I would not recommend it to anybody else. The amount of mods needed for making a radio like mine is just too expensive and time consuming, not counting unobtainable parts like the 9xtreme board and the 7 positions encoder that it just does not worth it.

Day by day there are more and better radios out there. That Jumper T16 with hall sensors gimbals looks just amazing, but even it has less switches than my radio. You all know that I defend the honour or programmable radios to death, and I really believe if people buys the futaba/tamiya radios is because of deep ignorance or misleading threads along the forums.

With the spectrum I can say more or less the same. Even when better than the futaba radios, they are very expensive for what they are and you are just paying the brand. Any radio working with opentx, er9x or erskxtx is miles ahead.

Just curious, if you were buying a radio today, which one would be?
User avatar
Rad_Schuhart
Warrant Officer 1st Class
 
Posts: 1640
Joined: Tue Jan 19, 2016 10:22 am
Location: Spanish living in Graz, Austria. Heart in UK.

Postby Rad_Schuhart » Sat Dec 28, 2019 9:09 pm

Well, as I already advised, I installed two extra sliders (side pots) So now I have 5. :D

At this point I think there are no radios with more functions-three pos switches-push buttons-pots than mine in the entire world, unless maybe something very technical and obscure. If somebody know something with more gadgets please let me know! I am always willing to discover new things, and I even might need that radio in the future!

Here is a pic of one of them.
Slider.jpg


Now there is only one last part to call this done, and it is a 7 positions rotary encoder. I am expecting to receive it within one month.
Please include me in your prayers, there will be a lot of risks of destroying the radio when fitting it.
User avatar
Rad_Schuhart
Warrant Officer 1st Class
 
Posts: 1640
Joined: Tue Jan 19, 2016 10:22 am
Location: Spanish living in Graz, Austria. Heart in UK.

Postby Rad_Schuhart » Mon Feb 17, 2020 11:07 am

Today I wanted to show something I did some time ago and I did not show until now.

A phone holder! So now it is easier to make videos and take pics than before. I can also use it as a PFV Screen if I place a camera on the tank, or even modify the Elmod's parameters with bluetooth.

A very usefull mod!

700cea73-0390-4340-ae8b-1145d48a2232.jpg
700cea73-0390-4340-ae8b-1145d48a2232.jpg (80.43 KiB) Viewed 548 times
User avatar
Rad_Schuhart
Warrant Officer 1st Class
 
Posts: 1640
Joined: Tue Jan 19, 2016 10:22 am
Location: Spanish living in Graz, Austria. Heart in UK.

Postby Von Mooflesaaa » Mon Feb 17, 2020 4:56 pm

I have that exact same set up on my tx as well. Except mine hold a mini screen which is synced to a fpv camera I installed. Very useful model indeed.

Sent from my SM-A102U using Tapatalk
User avatar
Von Mooflesaaa
Corporal
 
Posts: 314
Joined: Sat Aug 24, 2019 9:28 pm
Location: Boise ID

Postby Rad_Schuhart » Thu Feb 27, 2020 9:41 am

After 4 years, my radio is almost finnished! I just replaced the push buttons with the 7 position encoder!
ff000ca0-33b5-4416-a202-37cfff694fe0.jpg
ff000ca0-33b5-4416-a202-37cfff694fe0.jpg (60.58 KiB) Viewed 446 times


At this moment it is not fully working, but I am on it! At least the arrows work, I just need to make the rotary and the central button work, good knows how.


I sweated blood!
33dbe79d-3fe3-45fc-beb2-213b288ba955.jpg
User avatar
Rad_Schuhart
Warrant Officer 1st Class
 
Posts: 1640
Joined: Tue Jan 19, 2016 10:22 am
Location: Spanish living in Graz, Austria. Heart in UK.

Postby Rad_Schuhart » Fri Feb 28, 2020 9:44 am

IT WORKS. Everything works!

This finishes a 5 years job, and it seems now I have the ultimate radio. Cant be more happier.

Image

Ill write an entry in my blog explaining things, if somebody has interest on it.
User avatar
Rad_Schuhart
Warrant Officer 1st Class
 
Posts: 1640
Joined: Tue Jan 19, 2016 10:22 am
Location: Spanish living in Graz, Austria. Heart in UK.

Postby jarndice » Fri Feb 28, 2020 11:08 am

I remember the first time I opened up a Radio Transmitter, It was like a heavyweight boxer trying to tie a child's shoelaces :thumbdown:
Practice makes perfect but it sure can get expensive while practicing :lolno:
I have nothing but admiration for heroes like you Rad who take some of the terrors out of this part of our hobby :thumbup:
User avatar
jarndice
Major
 
Posts: 6098
Joined: Mon Sep 03, 2012 11:27 am
Location: the mountains of hertfordshire

Postby Rad_Schuhart » Fri Feb 28, 2020 11:45 am

jarndice wrote:I remember the first time I opened up a Radio Transmitter, It was like a heavyweight boxer trying to tie a child's shoelaces :thumbdown:
Practice makes perfect but it sure can get expensive while practicing :lolno:
I have nothing but admiration for heroes like you Rad who take some of the terrors out of this part of our hobby :thumbup:


Thanks Jarndice!
Yep, first time I opened it, it was scary as hell... What helped me is to do everything step by step. One mod today, then another in one month... The following in 5 months... And then I ended with a full spaguetti plate inside if the radio, lol

I will try to explan the use of every bit inside of the radio soon.
User avatar
Rad_Schuhart
Warrant Officer 1st Class
 
Posts: 1640
Joined: Tue Jan 19, 2016 10:22 am
Location: Spanish living in Graz, Austria. Heart in UK.

Postby jhamm » Fri Feb 28, 2020 12:04 pm

I went the easy way and installed an AR9X board with Frsky xjt module
...then hall gimbals and a little bit later a real time clock.
A short time later a Taranis X9D + SE came into the house
then an X10S and an X12S ...
and now I'm using an X10S Express with 24 Channels
User avatar
jhamm
Corporal
 
Posts: 309
Joined: Fri May 19, 2017 7:21 am

Postby 43rdRecceReg » Fri Feb 28, 2020 1:01 pm

:D The innards of your 'Eureka! moment' controller are beginning to resemble those complex, unstoppable, nuclear/viral weapon controllers (or remote detonators) found in James Bond movies, or 'Mission Impossible', Rad. :lolno: :clap:
Fully assembled, the TX is also beginning to resemble an electronic porcupine. Nonetheless, it's a real pleasure to share your pleasure in creating what must be the Ultimate TX. :thumbup:
Does it have a name? No? Well, how about 'RAD-ical 1, or 'RAD-io One'? :D It certainly needs a name. :)
User avatar
43rdRecceReg
Captain
 
Posts: 4663
Joined: Fri Jul 31, 2015 11:38 am
Location: North West Highlands, Scotland

Postby Rad_Schuhart » Fri Feb 28, 2020 1:27 pm

It indeed needs a name. All my toys have either personal numbers, names or both, but the radio.

In fact, yesterday, when I assembled both halves together I realized my radio is still not finished, because it needs a name written with my stencils and so on. I have to do something.
User avatar
Rad_Schuhart
Warrant Officer 1st Class
 
Posts: 1640
Joined: Tue Jan 19, 2016 10:22 am
Location: Spanish living in Graz, Austria. Heart in UK.

Previous

Return to Other electronics

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests

cron