Heat management

Discuss the good old Heng Long electronics here, whether its mods on them or anything else, it goes here!
D_Idaho
Recruit

Heat management

Post by D_Idaho »

Happy Saturday, friends...

I have a HL M1A2 TK 7.0, steel gears, all metal running gear with bearings, and have upgraded to the HL Red motors. Only using 7.2V NIMH batteries. Aside from the increased torque and a bit of speed there is a pretty good increase in heat output as well. Do you all worry about heat management at all? If so how do you mitigate the heat buildup in the closed hull? Any thoughts on installing a fan? I ditched the smoke unit (kinda cheesy on a turbine) and wonder if I can use that connection to power a fan?

I'm fairly new to this and won't pretend to understand the ins and outs of the boards installed in these tanks.

Any advice is greatly appreciated.

Thanks!
Kaczor
Warrant Officer 1st Class

Re: Heat management

Post by Kaczor »

Yeah, connetion of the fan should work (better check output voltage with mulitmeter). Anyway only time I had a problem with heat were hot sunny days.
D_Idaho
Recruit

Post by D_Idaho »

Gotcha… Thank you.
Kaczor

Post by Kaczor »

I would more worry about HL board than motors. Taigen boards have cooling fan already installed.
D_Idaho
Recruit

Post by D_Idaho »

Yeah I'm less worried about the motors themselves than I am the heat they generate that is retained inside of the hull. There isn't a whole lot of room to work with unless I chop out the battery box and I'm not ready for that major surgery until I read up a bit more on the mods in this forum. My hope is that getting some air circulating in the interior might mitigate some of the heat build up? Of course that brings up the issue of venting the heat... I'm probably way overthinking the issue.
Jofaur86

Post by Jofaur86 »