HL Challenger 2 (v6.0) MFU Advice

Discuss the good old Heng Long electronics here, whether its mods on them or anything else, it goes here!
Morkath
Recruit

HL Challenger 2 (v6.0) MFU Advice

Post by Morkath »

Hey all, looking for a little advice on which MFU upgrade to go with, I've done a lot of research but honestly without advice from experienced RC hobbyists it's highly likely I'll run into issues if I rush into it.

I'm slowly but surely planning my ideal Challenger 2 build, I'm a novice at RC but enterprise level computer nerd of over 20 years who rebuilt my first couple of cars with the aid of my retired Army motor pool guru grandfather back in the day and I service my current vehicles. So I've got the confidence and am good with my hands but lack the required component knowledge.

If it's been done to the HL Challenger 2 RC tank then it's likely I'll be doing it at some point.

I need to settle on an MFU, I had the Clark TK40 (I believe it's the replacement to the Clark 24?) in mind as you can select the Challenger 2 sound file when you order, seems fairly configurable but then it looks like you can use a Challenger 2 file set on MFU's like the IBU 2.

Is the Clark TK40 the ideal choice to support...
  • 360 turret conversion
    Recoil (gun barrel only), smoke if available but not essential
    TARR smoker (whichever version is best).
    Challenger 2 sound file with upgraded speaker (as good as I can squeeze in).
    Custom lighting setup (indicators, beacon, all TX controlled).
    Lipo 5000+ battery.
    Hobby grade TX, looking at Flysky FS-i6, i8 (got a friend offering me one of these cheap) and i10.
So, after looking at that wish list is the Clark TK40 MFU the right choice or should I be looking at an IBU or something else?

Any advice would be greatly appreciated.

Still on the fence about motors, whether I go for a full DKLM lower hull or replace it all myself piece by piece, does the MFU affect which motor I can use?
Jimster
Lieutenant