Heng Long smoke unit (2018) proportional wiring

Discuss the good old Heng Long electronics here, whether its mods on them or anything else, it goes here!
tom_tom_go
Recruit

Heng Long smoke unit (2018) proportional wiring

Post by tom_tom_go »

The new units, can they be wired up for proportional control or do they require additonal electronics?

This would need to work with a standard Rx and ESC and not be plugged into a circuit board in an existing tank that I suspect would have the ability to provide proportional control?

Cheers,

Tom
43rdRecceReg
Major

Re: Heng Long smoke unit (2018) proportional wiring

Post by 43rdRecceReg »

Proportional 'Tarr' units generally need to be connected, in some manner, to the gearbox motors, Tom. I imagine the same principle would probably apply to the latest HL units, but I've no experience of their most recent iterations. I've only used 'Tarr' models lately. :|
For interest's sake, you might be interested in these older (but still informative) threads:
viewtopic.php?t=12741
viewtopic.php?f=33&t=8027
"Get your facts first, and then you can distort them as much as you please"- Mark Twain.
Son of a gun-ner
Lieutenant-Colonel

Post by Son of a gun-ner »

Thanks Roy, just read those two posts and have now ordered three little fans lol.
Mick - The grit in the underpants of life!
And always happy to spare the bytes

TOTM needs YOU :thumbup: support YOUR TOTM competition, I'm doing my part, are YOU?
tom_tom_go
Recruit

Post by tom_tom_go »

Thanks for those links Roy.

There is a circuit board to upgrade the non-proportional smoker into one but doesn't seem to be available.

I think I will have a go at making it proportional myself.
jarndice
Colonel

Post by jarndice »

Hi, If you go to
http://www.rctank.de/smoke-unit-upgrade ... onal-smoke
they have a "Smoke Unit Upgrade Board Proportional Smoke" at 7.95Euros Plus Postage for sale.
I think I am about to upset someone :haha:
tom_tom_go
Recruit

Post by tom_tom_go »