Budget upgrade and transmitters

Discuss the good old Heng Long electronics here, whether its mods on them or anything else, it goes here!
Tijai
Recruit

Budget upgrade and transmitters

Post by Tijai »

Good day all,

I am looking for advice on a budget upgrade of a 2015 27MHz non S&S Panzer III.

I have been trawling the web, this forum and other places for information and there is a wealth of information out there but as a new starter to this hobby I realise I may be missing some points. I am pretty new at this so am looking for a pretty hassle free upgrade while still learning.

My initial idea to mod this PzIII (TK01 control board) would be to add capability for sound and smoke and from there improve sound using amp/better speaker and then paint and weather. May go further by looking into recoil. Speed control would be nice but not essential.
I want to be able to do this within my limited budget and have come up with a few routes to this for which your comments and suggestions would be appreciated.

1. Find an RX18 27Mhz board + Cables + TK reciever + crystals corresponding to my transmitter which is the non S&S transmitter.
Looking at costs of these parts this looks like a very cheap option at around £30 for parts unless I need a new transmitter which could add another £20.

Problems I might hit here include where to get the correct (older?) version of RX18 as I understand the newer versions may be problematic as some wiring has changed.
I note there are plenty of these for sale on ebay without much detail, but would rather find a source recommended by the community.
Also would the original transmitter work with this setup if the crystals are the same frequency?

2. Upgrade to RX18 2.4GHz - So I have read of the advantages (no aerial, range etc, no TK reciever?)