Tamiya M3 Lee 1/35 RC conversion

New to the forum? Introduce yourself here.
philbibbey
Recruit

Tamiya M3 Lee 1/35 RC conversion

Post by philbibbey »

Hello all! So I wanted to add some life to my static scale tanks by converting to RC. I have been building models on and off for the last 20 years but I am fairly new to the RC world. My first in box RC tank (10 years ago) was the Tamiya Sherman in 1/35 and loved having a scale model that moved. I’m attempting to convert the M3 Lee to RC after watching every YouTube video I can get relating to this.

I plan on tackling this project piece by piece in effort not to get overwhelmed and lost in the weeds. First off is the motor gearbox. I am going to test the tamiya mini motor gear box and a N20 motor at 27rpm. I’m thinking the N20 is going to be the best bet for size and torque. I plan on doing an out of the tank test first with the dual motors, receiver, and power source to make sure everything works and then instal in the tank. As always comments and solid advice is always welcome! Image

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Herr Dr. Professor
Lieutenant

Re: Tamiya M3 Lee 1/35 RC conversion

Post by Herr Dr. Professor »

And a hearty welcome to you, sir! :wave: Thank you for providing such an informative introduction. I think you will soon get some knowledgeable responses; the best I can offer is cheers and encouragement. :thumbup:

Although I have made a modeling transition to 1/16 scale, I do have some electronics and motors intended for 1/35 or 1/48 that I hope to install in a light 1/16 tank. (If that proves to be "no go," I have one or two 1/48 tank kits that are possibilies.) I got all the goodies from one of the vendors right here on RCTW.
philbibbey
Recruit

Post by philbibbey »