Hello from the cold midwest

New to the forum? Introduce yourself here.
douglasbader
Recruit

Hello from the cold midwest

Post by douglasbader »

Hello all,

I'd like to introduce my self. I'm fascinated with all things related to WWII, books, movies, docs, and rc warbirds and now rc tanks(although I still don't own one). I've been flying RC warbirds for the past 3 years and I'm currently building a spit 1/4 scale and a razorback 1/6 scale. Now I've been thinking about buying a few tanks. As I'm swamped with my warbirds, I've been trying to buy an already built Sherman E8 or a AK Tiger but not painted. I've built 1/48 warbirds since I was a teenager and painting is my real passion.

I live in Illinois and I wish I lived in the UK, it seems that the UK is the best place to live if you're into WW2 history in general, from toys to the real stuff. Also, it can't get any better than flying a spit in the skies of the UK.

Cheers!
Jimster
Lieutenant

Re: Hello from the cold midwest

Post by Jimster »

Welcome from the southern tip of Illinois! I’m exactly 1 year into RC tanking and it’s the most enjoyable of all my hobbies. I’ve always wanted to fly an rc FW-190 but as it is I’m spread as thin as a German supply line at Stalingrad.
douglasbader
Recruit

Post by douglasbader »

Thank you, Jimster! I'm near lake MI northeast. I'm sure it's enjoyable! I actually bought a T23 turret from Nick Aguillar 2 years ago but it's been in my closet since then. My idea was to buy a Tamyia Sherman but warbirds used all my funds and time for the past few years. Now the dilema is if I should buy a taigen sherman, the 76mm one, or wait till I have time to build a Tamyia Sherman from scratch.