Hi from Suffolk, UK

New to the forum? Introduce yourself here.
Skydive130
Recruit

Hi from Suffolk, UK

Post by Skydive130 »

Hi all,
I am a British Soldier with 36 years service, 4 to go, yep that makes me old as heck!

My modelling experience is RC aircraft for 30 years and boat building for the past 4. Just to ring the changes I have dabbled with 1 or 2 of the cheaper tanks but am now about to start a Tiger 1 full option eBay bargain. Seems to be a wealth of info on here but I am sure I will have a few questions of my own which I’m sure your guys with the expertise will no doubt help.
RobW
Warrant Officer 2nd Class

Re: Hi from Suffolk, UK

Post by RobW »

Welcome: that'll make you younger than some on here!

Have a look at the meets section, depending on where you are (Suffolk is quite big) you may be relatively close to Grantham or another group.
jarndice
Colonel

Post by jarndice »

Welcome to the Forum :thumbup: :wave: :clap: There are a number of good reasons to start with a Tiger 1 the first being you get a lot of Tank for your hardearned,
This leads on to the next and that is there is a lot more space in the hull so that newbie fingers have a better chance of not tearing out wires which in a Sherman or a Panzer 111 is far too likely thereby evoking bad language something that a jumper is of course totally unacquainted with :haha: and then there are the upgrades,
The Tiger 1 has more upgrades available than any other 1/16 Tank and because most of us have owned/Built a Tiger 1 we are well versed in its failings and its fixes.
By the way do the Hercs still have those pox awful plastic/Nylon Jumpseats,
Because the windows are so high in the fuselage compared to the Argosys and Beverlys we found out the hard way when we were in our first C130 that standing on the seats to look out tore the things to shreds,
The Jumpmaster was almost in tears,
Blo*dy pongoes, Sod*ing brown jobs and other not very welcoming words to his new aircraft followed on.