New to the forum? Introduce yourself here.
Growbag
Recruit

Post by Growbag »

Hi Everyone
My names Mike but everybody calls me Growbag as many years ago i used to be a landscape gardener.

I live in a little village near Basingstoke called Bramley. Im a keen RC modeller and have every thing from Tamiya Hot shots to Losi DBXL 1/5 scale buggies, Drones and boats. Im just getting into tanks after my partner brought me a Heng long Abrams tank. I know its not the best quality but its great fun in my garden. It takes some rough treatment and so far its not let me down.

No doubt there will be times i need to pick peoples brains about upgrades etc and if i can answer any thing id be pleased to help.
Mike
Model Builder 4
2nd Lieutenant

Re: Newbie

Post by Model Builder 4 »

Welcome to the forum Mike, good to have you along :wave: a varied knowledge of all things rc is a useful thing to have on the site ( for us less technically minded anyway :crazy: ) :thumbup:

Cheers, Lee.
Me ? Addicted ? Never !! :crazy:
jarndice
Colonel

Post by jarndice »

Mike, Welcome to the Forum :thumbup: :wave: :clap:
There was a time that the quality of Heng Long Tanks was deemed to be poor but as the only alternative was Tamiyas extraordinarily expensive products we bought what we could afford and strived to improve them,
And now we have this thriving hobby and it is all down to Heng Longs "Toy" quality products rather than Tamiyas "Rolls Royce" standard of build.
I know that Heng Longs Tank products carry a name for poor quality BUT only with those who have not kept up to date with them,
The latest Tanks including the Abrams is the equal of Taigens in some aspects and better in others although Tamiya is still the leader of the pack (Except in RC equipment) anyway enough of my waffling,
Enjoy this place and feel free to ask all the questions you like and anything you can offer such as Knowledge (Decent 12 year old Scotch Whiskey, Chocolate Fudge or Money)would be very welcome :haha: