Me

New to the forum? Introduce yourself here.
wolfgangglenn
Recruit

Me

Post by wolfgangglenn »

Hi everyone, I am quite new to this Tanking lark,
It all started when my 5yr old boy insisted that he wanted a remote control Tank for his birthday, so I got him a cheap second hand 1/24 henglong leopard, he was chuffed to bits, his Sister (6 & 3 quarters nearly 7), was also impressed, so she got a second hand one for herself, (sort of). they both didnt like the paint jobs so we changed them, boy's to better camo and girls to PINK camo!
after the usual breakages etc. me and my boy upgraded, (Girly still has PINK 1/24, almost undamaged,LOL) I now have a Tiger 1 early version, and he has a Panzer iv, both with metal gearboxes and suspension, had them a few months now, and I love setting up assault courses in the garden for us to play on,
I have just started trying to build a Frankenstein, so far I have taigen lower metal hull with the torsion suspension, on top I have a mato metal deck with all metal accessories and a taigen turret with recoil and BB metal barrel, it has henglong 2.4ghz inside, most of it has gone together ok, I just need to sort the wiring for the recoil servo, I have been sent a link to look at later which shows how to do it? so hopefully no problems, of course if there a no problems at all it will be a miracle! lol so there you go that's where i'm at now! :D :D :D
jarndice
Colonel

Re: Me

Post by jarndice »

Welcome to the Forum :thumbup: :wave: :clap:
A much missed member of this Forum (General Alpha) would have got on very well with your Daughter he possessed a wonderful modelling ability and at least one of his builds was pink!
The Tiger 1 is the usual goto Tank for most of us as the introduction to R/C Modelling and because it is very spacious inside the hull much work can be carried out without worrying about pulling out wires etc and of course the Tiger 1 having more upgrades available than any other 1/16 R/C Tank increases its appeal.