Hello from Monmouthshire

New to the forum? Introduce yourself here.
ChieftainMk1
Recruit

Hello from Monmouthshire

Post by ChieftainMk1 »

Hello everyone, I'm Colin and live near Raglan in Monmouthshire. I'm new to Radio Controlled Tank Warfare, but not to radio control. Also, I'm not new to tanks, having served in the 4th Royal Tank Regiment way back when! Looking around for my first ( 1/16th ) tank. Looking for clubs / other tankers nearby.
Chieftain Mk5
Panther BB
Panther IR
Son of a gun-ner
Lieutenant-Colonel

Re: Hello from Monmouthshire

Post by Son of a gun-ner »

Hello and welcome to the forum Colin :wave:

Pleased to have you aboard.

Gosh, you're after advice for your first tank. Well, that depends on two main things, what era, as in modern or WW2 is your preference, and how fat is your wallet (for the moment), tanks range from around £100 for a cheap and cheerful basic plastic one, to an all singing dancing totally metal for around £2000.

Heng Long is the cheap starting point, which can spiral in price with upgrades and more. Then comes Taigen or Torrow, already has many upgrades as standard, and depending on what tank, can be a rewarding entry level ready to run.
And, if you like kits and building, there is always full option Tamiya kits.

The choice is yours and your funds ;)

Again, welcome to the forum.
Mick.
Mick - The grit in the underpants of life!
And always happy to spare the bytes

TOTM needs YOU :thumbup: support YOUR TOTM competition, I'm doing my part, are YOU?
Model Builder 4
2nd Lieutenant

Post by Model Builder 4 »