Yet Another GErman Newbie (YAGEN )

New to the forum? Introduce yourself here.
yagen
Recruit

Yet Another GErman Newbie (YAGEN )

Post by yagen »

Hi everyone,

just wanted to say hello and introduce myself to this forum. I am a complete RC tank newbie from southern Germany (yes, Bavaria...) who earns his money in the IT. I am developing software solutions for medical products (a cpr unit, to be precise).

Started the RC tank hobby with a second hand Heng Long Panzer IV pro version with ball bullet turret. However, as this tank is using version 1 of the HL electronics, driving it is not much fun and, even though being a pro version with metal drivetrain, the overall metal percentage is painstakingly low.
So I opted for building a Panzer IV to my own specs (maybe I should have read some of the posts here before starting 8O ).
I use the parts as listed below:
- Taigen metal lower hull
- HL plastic upper hull (couldn't find a metal one)
- metal turret with metal rotation gear
- swapped all hatches for movable metal ones (all switches, battery charger connection... should be accessible without opening the hull)
- LED firing simulation with metal recoil servo unit, metal cannon elevation gears, servo driven (no more 'wagging tail' functionality)
- 3:1 all steel gearbox, all shafts in ball bearings, 380 motors
- all metal Taigen / HL drivetrain with ball bearing drive shaft support

The electronics are not yet complete, but I planned to use
- sound module and motor controls by Beier electronics
- 14 channel Carson Reflex Stick remote control with Beier electronics multiswitch decoder
I also want to install a smoke generator compatible with the Beier electronics board.

I hope that I will be able to finish this project somewhere in the near future and will supply pictures once the model is presentable :D

I would appreciate any comments / hints.
So long,
Reinhard
Son of a gun-ner
Lieutenant-Colonel

Re: Yet Another GErman Newbie (YAGEN )

Post by Son of a gun-ner »