Hi from London

New to the forum? Introduce yourself here.
Fourth Protocol
Recruit

Hi from London

Post by Fourth Protocol »

I'm new to model building. Sort of. Built a few static models as a kid, and in March last year I bought a Tamiya radio controlled Toyota Hilux, which got me hooked.

After that I wanted to actually make something, so scratch-built a 2004 Ford Bronco Concept body. Doors, hood and tailgate all open and close, and the roof comes off in two sections.

Then an Unimog 401.

Next I customised a Jeep JK body from Ebay into a River Raider ST replica.

Did two more Jeeps, and then got back to scratch building. Still working on a 1:10 Bedford RL, and a 1:10 Mercedes Benz LP 1480. Both are very early stages (about a month's work on each).

Both have been on hold because I built an Oshkosh HEMMT inspired by Mongo in Fast and Furious 5. Even though this one competed at the UK Scale RC Nationals at Bracken Rocks this weekend, it also still needs work.

So that's what I've done. I have three missions for 2017 - building an 8x8 truck, a landing craft, and the reason I just signed up here, a tank. Expect a lot of really stupid questions. I humbly and profusely apologise in advance.

Mike
jarndice
Colonel

Re: Hi from London

Post by jarndice »

Welcome to the Forum, :thumbup: :wave: :clap:
Your credentials seem to be more than acceptable,
Oh by the way I hope you won't forget to place the battery under the passengers seat on the "RL" because one of the fun things about the early "RLs" was the metal base of the seat would if you sat on it short out the battery terminals to the alarm/fun of all in the vicinity. :lolno:
I hope you enjoy this place we do.
Shaun.
I think I am about to upset someone :haha:
HERMAN BIX
Brigadier

Post by HERMAN BIX »

Oh god, the RL.................keeping brakes up to these things was as bad as keeping your ass off the battery. :/
And fuel burn like they were sponsored by OPEC !!!!