1/4 scale Panzer 38t

This section is for builds that are not strictly Tamiya or Heng Long. For instance, replacing the electronics from a WSN or Matorro, or even a scratch-build.
T_ankmann
Recruit

1/4 scale Panzer 38t

Post by T_ankmann »

Hey all! A little while ago I started piecing together my own project of making a 1/4 scale Panzer 38t ausf A for the funs of it all. I can make a empty box easy enough but command and control systems are a magical mystery to myself so that's how I discovered this forum, which I've spent hours lurking in.

I'll be detailing the process as I go along, I'm new to most everything I'm doing and any suggestions or ideas are always welcome
Attachments
IMG_4469.JPG
IMG_4469.JPG (38.25 KiB) Viewed 2260 times
T_ankmann
Recruit

Re: 1/4 scale Panzer 38t

Post by T_ankmann »

Turret minus main gun. If anyone has info on the main cannon let me know there is very little information on it
Turret minus main gun. If anyone has info on the main cannon let me know there is very little information on it
tuaasdfg-768x491.jpg (25.93 KiB) Viewed 2247 times
I've been doing research and building CAD files of all the cast pieces and assemblies. Originally planned on 3D printing in ABS but after a wild bout of masochism I have decided to do sand casting into aluminum once a part is printed.

The first part I finished designing was the turret. The plates are designed as flat patterns so I got some 11guage steel cut at a local place now I have to bend the steel to the correct curve. Maybe a wooden mandrel or form will be used. Maybe. Might just hammer it out on an anvil.

So yeah as it stands now I will got most of the tank designed and some parts printing, it's gonna take a lot haha.
Chassis and some of the drivetrain and suspension, which still needs work
Chassis and some of the drivetrain and suspension, which still needs work
sept2-768x457.jpg (32.97 KiB) Viewed 2247 times