Centurion Mk III Scratch build

This section is for builds that are not strictly Tamiya or Heng Long. For instance, replacing the electronics from a WSN or Matorro, or even a scratch-build.

Postby AlwynTurner » Sat Jun 09, 2018 12:12 pm

And so it begins :/ :crazy:

Image
Image
Image
Image
Image

Looking at the 1/35 model some of the Chieftain parts are almost identical, some like the suspension will need changes.

Let the fun begin!

Alwyn :thumbup: :wave:
Last edited by AlwynTurner on Fri Aug 17, 2018 8:51 am, edited 1 time in total.
User avatar
AlwynTurner
Warrant Officer 1st Class
 
Posts: 1925
Joined: Thu Oct 23, 2014 10:47 am
Location: Chapel-en-le-Frith, Derbyshire

Postby Soeren » Sat Jun 09, 2018 12:33 pm

:thumbup: Cool. If Tamiya would just do a proper detailed kit for this. I would even be interested in their RC Cent. But not muich oob or upgrades for detailing.
User avatar
Soeren
Staff Sergeant
 
Posts: 881
Joined: Sat Oct 22, 2016 3:27 pm

Postby midlife306 » Sat Jun 09, 2018 1:54 pm

I’m all over it Alwyn, Iv just got my grubby bands on my 1/35th
Cheers
Wayne


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
User avatar
midlife306
Staff Sergeant
 
Posts: 866
Joined: Sun Aug 27, 2017 10:34 am

Postby Ad Lav » Sat Jun 09, 2018 3:29 pm

Nice, good luck.

I sold the Ludwigs one recently but it was a good kit. Bit expensive mind you.
User avatar
Ad Lav
Lieutenant
 
Posts: 3111
Joined: Tue Sep 01, 2009 4:44 pm
Location: Kent

Postby AlwynTurner » Sat Jun 09, 2018 3:51 pm

Wayne, just a timely reminder not to glue the track covers to the lower hull! :haha: :D

Yes the Ludwig kit is fantastic but who has 800 Euros plus shipping plus plus (not me anyway 8O )?


Alwyn :thumbup: :wave:
User avatar
AlwynTurner
Warrant Officer 1st Class
 
Posts: 1925
Joined: Thu Oct 23, 2014 10:47 am
Location: Chapel-en-le-Frith, Derbyshire

Postby midlife306 » Sat Jun 09, 2018 3:58 pm

Ohh, I’m rolling around on the floor Alwyn
Cheers
Wayne


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
User avatar
midlife306
Staff Sergeant
 
Posts: 866
Joined: Sun Aug 27, 2017 10:34 am

Postby AlwynTurner » Sun Jun 10, 2018 7:00 pm

The lower hull is progressing nicely
Image
Image
I assembled the pieces and then reinforced the sides/front/back with an extra layer of 2mm styrene, it's now solid.
The suspension is now done and comprises 2 versions, the centre suspension which has no return roller. The suspension unit itself is different to the Chieftain suspension unit but the swing arms and spring bracket are the same
Image
Image
Image

I think Waynes printer is about to melt :haha: :D :D

Alwyn :thumbup: :wave:
Last edited by AlwynTurner on Fri Aug 17, 2018 8:51 am, edited 1 time in total.
User avatar
AlwynTurner
Warrant Officer 1st Class
 
Posts: 1925
Joined: Thu Oct 23, 2014 10:47 am
Location: Chapel-en-le-Frith, Derbyshire

Postby Ad Lav » Sun Jun 10, 2018 7:15 pm

I wouldn’t go using the Tamiya 1/35 kit as reference - the afv club ones are much much better.

Road wheels should be same diameter as comet etc too :)
User avatar
Ad Lav
Lieutenant
 
Posts: 3111
Joined: Tue Sep 01, 2009 4:44 pm
Location: Kent

Postby midlife306 » Sun Jun 10, 2018 7:24 pm

My printer is cowering in the corner
Thanks Alwyn!!
Cheers
Wayne


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
User avatar
midlife306
Staff Sergeant
 
Posts: 866
Joined: Sun Aug 27, 2017 10:34 am

Postby Peter W » Sun Jun 10, 2018 8:21 pm

Is all the styrene 2mm ? How do you cut it ? I have mixed results cutting 2mm and thicker.

Peter
User avatar
Peter W
Recruit
 
Posts: 9
Joined: Mon Sep 11, 2017 6:06 pm
Location: Kent

Postby midlife306 » Sun Jun 10, 2018 8:29 pm

15 cuts with the back of an exacto blade, keeping blade square against a metal ruler, should bend & snap cleanly. Always being careful not to sever a digit.. :crazy:
Cheers
Wayne
User avatar
midlife306
Staff Sergeant
 
Posts: 866
Joined: Sun Aug 27, 2017 10:34 am

Postby Son of a gun-ner » Sun Jun 10, 2018 8:39 pm

Also either get a non slip metal ruler to cut against, or put a thin non slip something or other on one side of a steel ruler.
User avatar
Son of a gun-ner
Lieutenant
 
Posts: 3501
Joined: Sun May 07, 2017 8:49 pm
Location: Sutton, Surrey, UK

Postby Ad Lav » Sun Jun 10, 2018 8:40 pm

You should try a p cutter and a steel ruler for the straight cuts.
User avatar
Ad Lav
Lieutenant
 
Posts: 3111
Joined: Tue Sep 01, 2009 4:44 pm
Location: Kent

Postby AlwynTurner » Sun Jun 10, 2018 8:41 pm

When cutting styrene you need a really good hobby knife, such as this
https://www.amazon.co.uk/Modelcraft-Pre ... B00VG28S9G

The important thing is to get a knife which is all metal, i.e. the blade grip must be metal not plastic - if plastic it will snap.

The actual cut is done first by lightly scoring the styrene, then using successive heavier scores until the styrene is cut at least half way through, the styrene can then be snapped cleanly. Also you will need a heavy duty smooth edge ruler, and I stick some of this on the back of the ruler
https://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/High-Grip-Ad ... KnsTjUlGsQ
which should stop the ruler from moving on the styrene

Alwyn :thumbup: :wave:
User avatar
AlwynTurner
Warrant Officer 1st Class
 
Posts: 1925
Joined: Thu Oct 23, 2014 10:47 am
Location: Chapel-en-le-Frith, Derbyshire

Postby Ad Lav » Sun Jun 10, 2018 8:41 pm

https://www.wonderlandmodels.com/produc ... criber-ii/

Look forward to your turret - Ludwigs one was 3d printed then a resin one was made from ge original.
User avatar
Ad Lav
Lieutenant
 
Posts: 3111
Joined: Tue Sep 01, 2009 4:44 pm
Location: Kent

Postby Peter W » Sun Jun 10, 2018 8:45 pm

Thanks chaps. Sounds like I am not doing enough cuts. I tend to use a no.4 scalpel and am very careful with safety !!!

Peter
User avatar
Peter W
Recruit
 
Posts: 9
Joined: Mon Sep 11, 2017 6:06 pm
Location: Kent

Postby Son of a gun-ner » Sun Jun 10, 2018 8:58 pm

I use a Stanley knife, and you can get hooked blades for them like some lino layers use.

I've cut acrylic sheet with them in a Stanley knife.
User avatar
Son of a gun-ner
Lieutenant
 
Posts: 3501
Joined: Sun May 07, 2017 8:49 pm
Location: Sutton, Surrey, UK

Postby midlife306 » Mon Jun 11, 2018 8:55 pm

Hi Alwyn,
Can you confirm the size of the front panel please, drg has 2 upper widths & 2 heights.
I've got all the other pieces cut :thumbup:
Cheers
Wayne
User avatar
midlife306
Staff Sergeant
 
Posts: 866
Joined: Sun Aug 27, 2017 10:34 am

Postby AlwynTurner » Mon Jun 11, 2018 9:18 pm

Hi Wayne, note that th font panel sticks up above the side panels. The width at the bottom should be the same as your bottom panel width. The width at the top on mine is 108.5mm. The height is 43mm. The width at the height of the side panels is 103mm.

Hope that helps,

Alwyn :thumbup: :wave:
User avatar
AlwynTurner
Warrant Officer 1st Class
 
Posts: 1925
Joined: Thu Oct 23, 2014 10:47 am
Location: Chapel-en-le-Frith, Derbyshire

Postby midlife306 » Mon Jun 11, 2018 9:20 pm

Ahhh, magic, thanks Alwyn
Cheers
Wayne


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
User avatar
midlife306
Staff Sergeant
 
Posts: 866
Joined: Sun Aug 27, 2017 10:34 am

Next

Return to Other Builds

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 6 guests