Centurion Bridge layer (FV4002)

This section is for builds that are not strictly Tamiya or Heng Long. For instance, replacing the electronics from a WSN or Matorro, or even a scratch-build.
hawkeye3guns
Corporal

Centurion Bridge layer (FV4002)

Post by hawkeye3guns »

Hi A few people have asked me to post some photo's of a model I have been working on & off for the last 18 months. I obtained some A4 line drawings from Bovington Tank museum and a set of Photo's of a Centurion Bridge layer (FV4002) The Drawings I Scaled up to 1/16.
To save building a hull from scratch I looked around and decided to use a KV hull and running gear and then modify it to suit. According to the drawings the hull is 200mm short on width 160mm short on lenght compared to the full size hulls so at 1/16 its not really noticable.
The front and rear of the hull was removed and then rebuilt to suit, Also the sides was raised to give the correct profile.
Centurion model 009.JPG
Centurion model 011.JPG
Next came the basic engine covers and deck cover.
Centurion model 017.JPG
On the centurion the mudguards/ Trackguards are just prefabricated tin bolted to the hull, carrying the toolboxes and the exhausts.
Centurion model 018.JPG
Centurion model 022.JPG
Centurion model 024.JPG
Centurion model 033.JPG
and then the last major hull mod is the extended range external fuel tank.
Centurion model 035.JPG
The rear Bridge supports and crossbeam are the next to fit.
Centurion model 038.JPG
I now decided to rough build the bridging units to get an some idea of the force required to lay the bridge.
Centurion model 039.JPG
opp's you said get off the road
hawkeye3guns
Corporal

Centurion bridgelayer Part 2

Post by hawkeye3guns »

Do not know how to combine the two posts so added the rest of the build so far as a part two.
The rest of the bridging units and then laid along side the model for size .
Centurion model 050.JPG
Centurion model 049.JPG