Clark tk24 set up help.

Discussion for Clark electronics

Postby Model Builder 4 » Tue Mar 24, 2020 1:01 pm

Morning all,

I've just recently bought a tank with a Clark tk24 board installed. I believe it to be the standard 4ch option and I am trying to set it up with my spektrum dx6e radio. This is the first Clark board that I have seen let alone owned. So far I have had no luck what so ever trying to get it to work :thumbdown: My first question would be do you need to calibrate the board to the radio as you do with the ibu and if so how do you achieve this ? I have plugged the 4 channel plugs into my receiver but the functions and how they perform are random and sporadic at the moment, it doesn't matter which way the sticks are moved it just triggers a random movement of a function which does not include any movement of the elevation or traverse thus far :crazy: I've seen the tracks move only twice and that was in a different direction to one another. Another problem that I've come across and I have read online is that the boards do not like a fully charged battery which I have confirmed as I got nothing from it while using one but it will randomly do things with a partly discharged battery :( I'd appreciate any help or info to get it working before I get any more frustrated with it and resign it to the bin :thumbup:

Cheers, Lee.
User avatar
Model Builder 4
Warrant Officer 2nd Class
 
Posts: 1348
Joined: Sun Jul 26, 2015 3:46 pm
Location: South Wales valleys

Postby silversurfer1947 » Tue Mar 24, 2020 1:07 pm

I once had troubles which sound a bit similar to yours with a Clark board and solved it by switching the mode on the transmitter. Can't remember what I switched it from or to, unfortunately. It is worth a try
User avatar
silversurfer1947
2nd Lieutenant
 
Posts: 2947
Joined: Tue Oct 27, 2015 10:54 pm
Location: Bristol, UK

Postby Model Builder 4 » Tue Mar 24, 2020 1:25 pm

I have it set to mode 2 at the minute Richard the same as all my other tanks. It is very frustrating as what sounds I have heard from it so far seem very good but if it doesn't run that is by the by. Does the board need to be first calibrated to the radio or is it just a matter of plugging the receiver in ?

Cheers, Lee.
User avatar
Model Builder 4
Warrant Officer 2nd Class
 
Posts: 1348
Joined: Sun Jul 26, 2015 3:46 pm
Location: South Wales valleys

Postby Jimster » Tue Mar 24, 2020 1:39 pm

You definitely need to bind the radio to the receiver first. You might need to google the exact procedure for your radio and receiver. Good luck.

Jimster
Warrant Officer 2nd Class
 
Posts: 1080
Joined: Mon Dec 10, 2018 2:51 am
Location: Illinois

Postby Model Builder 4 » Tue Mar 24, 2020 1:50 pm

Hi Jimster,

My radio and receiver are already bound, I was wondering if the board needs to be calibrated to the radio as the ibu board needs to before it works. My question relating to the receiver was if the board just needs to be plugged into the receiver for it to work as in no set up of the board was required ??? :thumbup:

Cheers, Lee.
User avatar
Model Builder 4
Warrant Officer 2nd Class
 
Posts: 1348
Joined: Sun Jul 26, 2015 3:46 pm
Location: South Wales valleys

Postby jarndice » Tue Mar 24, 2020 2:35 pm

Whenever I install a new to me MFU I read the instructions and then I search out all the information I can find on U-Tube.
The ASP2 did not come with instructions, I had to join an Australian Forum and download it from that site and my first Clark board came with everything in German so U-Tube came into its own with both boards. :thumbup:
User avatar
jarndice
Major
 
Posts: 6102
Joined: Mon Sep 03, 2012 11:27 am
Location: the mountains of hertfordshire

Postby silversurfer1947 » Tue Mar 24, 2020 2:36 pm

Sorry that did not help. Clark boards have always been plug and play so far as my experience goes. That includes a TK24.
User avatar
silversurfer1947
2nd Lieutenant
 
Posts: 2947
Joined: Tue Oct 27, 2015 10:54 pm
Location: Bristol, UK

Postby Model Builder 4 » Tue Mar 24, 2020 2:40 pm

Thanks fellas, I've looked on the Clark site but the instructions are if you are using a flysky radio, I hope I can get it running as the sounds are fantastic from what I've heard of it :thumbup:

Cheers, Lee.
User avatar
Model Builder 4
Warrant Officer 2nd Class
 
Posts: 1348
Joined: Sun Jul 26, 2015 3:46 pm
Location: South Wales valleys

Postby c.rainford73 » Tue Mar 24, 2020 2:57 pm

Are your channel plugs in the correct order? If it's not sbus setup with single plug you may have to change them from 1,2,3,4 to another order.....
User avatar
c.rainford73
Major
 
Posts: 5789
Joined: Thu Aug 25, 2016 7:34 pm
Location: Connecticut USA

Postby Model Builder 4 » Tue Mar 24, 2020 3:22 pm

Hi Carl,

I have tried a couple of combinations with the receiver plugs but it acts exactly the same, I can get the engine sounds to start on the odd occasion but nothing else works as in the elevation sound or movement or the traverse, the main cannon will periodically recoil and flash but at random movements of the sticks and not always the same movement :crazy: :thumbup:

Cheers, Lee.
User avatar
Model Builder 4
Warrant Officer 2nd Class
 
Posts: 1348
Joined: Sun Jul 26, 2015 3:46 pm
Location: South Wales valleys

Postby c.rainford73 » Tue Mar 24, 2020 3:44 pm

If I remember from the old days of 4ch Clark, I had a hard time with my spectrum radio and rx too. The only set that very gave me trouble. Radio worked fine with my elmod.

I think my combination on the rx was 1,3,2,4
User avatar
c.rainford73
Major
 
Posts: 5789
Joined: Thu Aug 25, 2016 7:34 pm
Location: Connecticut USA

Postby Model Builder 4 » Tue Mar 24, 2020 3:47 pm

I'm also wondering how the board can read the stick position if there is no calibration required ??? With the ibu2 you set the boards dip switch8 position which let's you input the sticks maximum movement and similar with the ibu2u only that talks you through the stick set up, how does the clark board calculate the stick movements ?

Cheers, Lee.
User avatar
Model Builder 4
Warrant Officer 2nd Class
 
Posts: 1348
Joined: Sun Jul 26, 2015 3:46 pm
Location: South Wales valleys

Postby Model Builder 4 » Tue Mar 24, 2020 3:50 pm

Thank you Carl, I will give the plug changes a go later on, I hope I can get it working as this is my first clark board or it will be up for sale :haha: :thumbup:

Cheers, Lee.
User avatar
Model Builder 4
Warrant Officer 2nd Class
 
Posts: 1348
Joined: Sun Jul 26, 2015 3:46 pm
Location: South Wales valleys

Postby PainlessWolf » Tue Mar 24, 2020 3:58 pm

Good morning, Lee,
Have you chatted up Maxmekker yet about this. He is the Clark Board guru I ask whenever one of mine does something odd.
regards,
Painless
User avatar
PainlessWolf
Lieutenant-Colonel
 
Posts: 6649
Joined: Sun Feb 26, 2012 10:09 pm
Location: Front Range of Colorado

Postby Model Builder 4 » Tue Mar 24, 2020 4:04 pm

Hi painless,

Yes maxmekker was the first person I contacted :D unfortunately he said he had no experience with the board and a spektrum set up so that's why I posted the question in the hope that somebody may have :thumbup:

Cheers, Lee.
User avatar
Model Builder 4
Warrant Officer 2nd Class
 
Posts: 1348
Joined: Sun Jul 26, 2015 3:46 pm
Location: South Wales valleys

Postby PainlessWolf » Tue Mar 24, 2020 4:15 pm

Lee!
That is interesting. I did not realize that FlySky had such a grip on the Clark board using segment of the Hobby. You are an Adventurer, Sir, sailing in Uncharted Waters!
regards,
Painless
User avatar
PainlessWolf
Lieutenant-Colonel
 
Posts: 6649
Joined: Sun Feb 26, 2012 10:09 pm
Location: Front Range of Colorado

Postby Model Builder 4 » Tue Mar 24, 2020 4:17 pm

I don't know about sailing unchartered waters painless but if I can't get it to work it will be at the bottom of the river bed with a brick tied to it :haha: :thumbup:

Cheers, Lee.
User avatar
Model Builder 4
Warrant Officer 2nd Class
 
Posts: 1348
Joined: Sun Jul 26, 2015 3:46 pm
Location: South Wales valleys

Postby maxmekker » Tue Mar 24, 2020 4:23 pm

Just to make sure, you have power to the board and some functions ( like turret prhaps ) ?

you could try and switch to mode 1 just for a test
that should give you the operation as seen here in my video here, that show the operate differences between the 4/6 ch and sbus setup)

phpBB [video]


see also on the tk60 page and scroll down to 6ch layout for a little help on the 'ninja' moves'
http://clark-model.com/eng/prod_rx60/index.html
User avatar
maxmekker
Warrant Officer 2nd Class
 
Posts: 1450
Joined: Tue Apr 27, 2010 8:47 am
Location: Norway

Postby Model Builder 4 » Tue Mar 24, 2020 4:28 pm

Hi Stian,

Yes there is power to the board and some things work randomly, no track movement only when it decides to on it's own but they spin up extremely fast with no control and in opposite directions to each other with no input, I have not managed to get the turret traverse or elevation working at all :|

Cheers, Lee.
User avatar
Model Builder 4
Warrant Officer 2nd Class
 
Posts: 1348
Joined: Sun Jul 26, 2015 3:46 pm
Location: South Wales valleys

Postby Jarlath » Tue Mar 24, 2020 5:27 pm

What receiver are you using? Does it support PWM servo control, or PPM?

Are you sure that the TK-24 is not an S-Bus version?
User avatar
Jarlath
Lance Corporal
 
Posts: 138
Joined: Mon Jun 27, 2016 2:45 pm
Location: Ontario, Canada

Next

Return to Clark

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests