HL M1A1 Aussie version...

HvyCgn9
Lance Corporal

HL M1A1 Aussie version...

Post by HvyCgn9 »

G'day All,

Started pulling my M1A2 apart last week to see about getting the BB unit to function and as with all strip downs like this decided it was time for the beast to get painted up as an Australian Army M1A1 AIM SA in the AUSCAM camo our Defense force uses. The beast will not be based on any particular tank from my research pix...

Once I had it apart had a go at getting the airsoft unit to work but nothing appears to be happening I will order a new unit from Tankarmy when I order the roadwheels,etc. Having given up on the bb unit I started drawing all over the hull and turret with a lead pencil marking out the camo scheme, after about 3 hours drawing lines (and redoin em when I wasn't happy!!).

Next evening after work started masking up the hull for the olive drab. (I got a big rattle can of it and Black from the paint supply place up the road, they are Rustolem brand and come up nice) Used a trick a had seen elsewhere to mask up the hull using bluetack to do the edges then masking tape to cover the rest (see pixs). Over the next days I worked my way thru the hull and turret painting the all the green first then did the black.

Very happy with the result now it looks like one of our Tanks!! I was going to reassemble it but decided to gather all the upgrades for it first rather than having to strip it down again later. I will be pulling the gearbox's out next and degreasing the inner hull then I will put in some styrene plating as I have seen others do to blank off some of the holes that can let dust and water in (I like to drive in all conditions so I want to make the hull reasonably sealed) and will being adding some ballast wt so I will be adding some cross bracing too...

Cheers Bruce
Attachments
DSCN4013a.JPG
Started masking up for the olive drab
Started masking up for the olive drab
cut off the back sprocket cover as our ones run without em'