Loads Of Questions From A Newbie

If you have a tank query and you can't find the answer anywhere else, post here. (TIP - Check for answers in FAQ, use the 'search' facility or even check this board before posting here).

Postby MikeHamilton » Fri Jun 18, 2021 10:32 am

Hi, I only joined the forum yesterday and am a complete newbie as far as RC goes.
I’ve always fancied an RC tank and began researching last week and have loads of questions, to which I hope people can offer some help or guidance.

I have nearly made my mind up to get a King Tiger of some sort to cut my teeth on.

I have spoken to Dave at Forgebear yesterday and he can get a Torro metal King Tiger to me in about 2 weeks and he seems like a genuine bloke, especially with me being such a newbie.

As far as makes go , what are the differences between a Heng Long and a Torro, apart from the Torro having more metal than the Heng Long?

Which is the better make between HL and Torro in terms of reliability and build quality / longevity?

If I were to go for the metal KT I gather that as far as after market upgrades to wheels etc. go they’re already included.

What are the pros and cons between BB and IR. I think I know the answer and for me I don’t want to be shooting plastic BB around the garden, but are there any other differences between the two systems?

Does the Torro have a recoiling barrel? If not, can they be added at some stage?

Are the supplied batteries irrespective of which make of model I go for OK or do they need upgrading.

I think that’s about it for the time being and apologies for the long post.

MikeHamilton
Private

Postby 43rdRecceReg » Fri Jun 18, 2021 2:24 pm

A few quick answers:
1. Dave at Forgebear is a top-notch seller. If notches (like the 'Spinal Tap' volume control) went past 0-10, he would also be 11.
2. A Torro/Taigen KT with IR will almost certainly have recoil. The only real attribute of an IR model is the option battling with other Tamiya compatible IR tanks.