Over sensitive control...

If you have a tank query and you can't find the answer anywhere else, post here. (TIP - Check for answers in FAQ, use the 'search' facility or even check this board before posting here).
Forum rules
If your question is electronics related please post it in one of the relevant boards here: viewforum.php?f=31
Bazbro
Recruit

Over sensitive control...

Post by Bazbro »

Hi folks Newbie here.
I have a four year old Taigen Tiger I, little used, but the thing that's bugging me about it is the control joystick. There is so little "feel" to it and very little movement is needed before the tank is off like a rocket! It is so hard to achieve the minimal, s-l-o-o-o-w authentic movement of the real thing.
Is this a common problem and if so, how can I finesse the control and reduce the stick sensitivity, please?
Thanks.
Baz
Son of a gun-ner
Lieutenant-Colonel

Re: Over sensitive control...

Post by Son of a gun-ner »

Hi, you basically answered the why by stating the tank is four years old. Which is how long you've had it, the tank could date as older.
The older Heng Long and Taigen tanks back then were very similar with their control boards that hardly had any proportional speed control, if any, plus they only had a 39 to 1 gear ratio, which just added to that lack of control.
But all is not lost, you can purchase after market gearboxes with a more sensible gear ratio, and a much better control board.
It just depends on the money you're willing to fork out on it.
Mick - The grit in the underpants of life!
And always happy to spare the bytes

TOTM needs YOU :thumbup: support YOUR TOTM competition, I'm doing my part, are YOU?
Bazbro
Recruit

Post by Bazbro »

Many thanks.