Challenger 2 & T-90

If you have a tank query and you can't find the answer anywhere else, post here. (TIP - Check for answers in FAQ, use the 'search' facility or even check this board before posting here).

Postby Rhat33 » Thu May 21, 2020 9:48 pm

Hi, l've recently purchased two Heng Long tanks, at a very good price. I have now found out why, both do not have a fire switch in the cupola. So to find out how much is missing inside, does anyone know how to take apart the Challenger 2 & T-90 ?
Thanks in advance

Rhat33
Recruit
 
Posts: 30
Joined: Sun Apr 05, 2020 9:36 am
Location: Melksham, Wiltshire, UK

Postby General Jumbo01 » Thu May 21, 2020 10:01 pm

Hi. I guess you are not very familiar with HengLong tanks. The newer version don't carry the switch you refer to but instead use a safety button on the transmitter. It's all in the supplied manuals.

By the way, when you joined here you were requested to introduce yourself in the introduction part of the forum. It's not to late ;)
User avatar
General Jumbo01
Warrant Officer 2nd Class
 
Posts: 1232
Joined: Sat Jul 14, 2018 8:06 pm
Location: I'm a Londoner that moved to Essex. Says it all really...:(

Postby Rhat33 » Fri May 22, 2020 11:33 am

Hi,
Sorry, my bad. Yep, relatively new to the r/c world. Dad gave me an old Heng Long Tiger, which needs a lot of tlc to get it back up and running. While looking for advice and parts, I came across the two items (Challenger 2 & T-90), I initially bought the T-90, then he asked if I wanted to buy the Challenger (so both cost total price - £150 - both new and in the boxes with all the parts). Naively I checked them out in regards to working, including the BB function, and compared them to the Tiger, which it seems was a mistake. So now I'm looking into the BB/Infrared part. Will check the docs out, there is probably something I have missed, not surprising (old age excuse). I do know that they both run ok, so any advice would be greatly received. Now the missus is asking where I'm going to keep them :-)

Rhat33
Recruit
 
Posts: 30
Joined: Sun Apr 05, 2020 9:36 am
Location: Melksham, Wiltshire, UK

Postby Son of a gun-ner » Fri May 22, 2020 11:51 am

Rhat33 wrote:Now the missus is asking where I'm going to keep them :-)

Tell her. . . . "The same place I'll be keeping all the other tanks I'm getting. . . ." :haha:
User avatar
Son of a gun-ner
TOTM Admin
 
Posts: 4172
Joined: Sun May 07, 2017 8:49 pm
Location: Surrey UK

Postby General Jumbo01 » Fri May 22, 2020 11:57 am

Firm...but true :haha:
User avatar
General Jumbo01
Warrant Officer 2nd Class
 
Posts: 1232
Joined: Sat Jul 14, 2018 8:06 pm
Location: I'm a Londoner that moved to Essex. Says it all really...:(

Postby Rhat33 » Fri May 22, 2020 12:16 pm

Hmmm......not sure that will go down too well. Plus she gave in too easily when I said I was going to purchase one or two r/c tanks :-(

Ok - me being a muppet, and should have read instructions, now seen how to fire BB. Challenger docs say to use on/off switch in opposite hatch, but switch is missing (may have fallen through into turret - so next question is, to access internal Challenger parts, is it a case of undoing the screws underneath the tank, or are there some secret movements I need to do beforehand ?
Looking forward, how easy is it to add infra-red device to out of the box tanks ?
Thanks

Rhat33
Recruit
 
Posts: 30
Joined: Sun Apr 05, 2020 9:36 am
Location: Melksham, Wiltshire, UK

Postby adeh » Fri May 22, 2020 12:49 pm

The Challenger 2 is quite easy to work on.
Just remove the screws on the underside and the deck will detach from the hull.
Removing the screws on the turret ring will release the turret from the deck.
You might want to remove the plugs from the main board to make things even easier.

The latest V6 Heng Long tanks already have all the infra red pats fitted.

For the older ones (RX18 onwards) it's just a matter of getting the infra red receiver (mushroom) and the infra red emitter led.
They need wiring to a 5 pin plug that then pushes into the socket on the mainboard.
The ir receiver sits in the turret hatch and the led can either be strapped to the outside of the barrel or fitted behind a hole drilled somewhere near the barrel.

adeh
Recruit
 
Posts: 21
Joined: Tue Jul 02, 2019 11:18 pm
Location: Wales U.K.

Postby Rhat33 » Fri May 22, 2020 1:12 pm

Thanks adeh

Rhat33
Recruit
 
Posts: 30
Joined: Sun Apr 05, 2020 9:36 am
Location: Melksham, Wiltshire, UK

Postby tankme » Fri May 22, 2020 5:44 pm

Label cables and/or take pics of the wires "before" removing them. You will thank yourself later.

tankme
Lance Corporal
 
Posts: 170
Joined: Tue Oct 31, 2017 4:51 pm
Location: Elgin, TX

Postby Son of a gun-ner » Sat May 23, 2020 10:34 am

tankme wrote:Label cables and/or take pics of the wires "before" removing them. You will thank yourself later.

Get those little self adhesive coloured dots, fold them around the wires to colour code them :thumbup:
User avatar
Son of a gun-ner
TOTM Admin
 
Posts: 4172
Joined: Sun May 07, 2017 8:49 pm
Location: Surrey UK

Postby General Jumbo01 » Sat May 23, 2020 1:15 pm

I simply put a blob of coloured paints on each of the plugs/sockets so l can't make any mistakes. Whichever way you do it, as confident as you may feel you don't need to....just do it!! ;)
User avatar
General Jumbo01
Warrant Officer 2nd Class
 
Posts: 1232
Joined: Sat Jul 14, 2018 8:06 pm
Location: I'm a Londoner that moved to Essex. Says it all really...:(


Return to General Questions

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 13 guests