I think I FUBARed the motherboard

If you have a tank query and you can't find the answer anywhere else, post here. (TIP - Check for answers in FAQ, use the 'search' facility or even check this board before posting here).
Forum rules
If your question is electronics related please post it in one of the relevant boards here: viewforum.php?f=31
jgm219
Recruit

I think I FUBARed the motherboard

Post by jgm219 »

Hi everyone! I'm new to r/c tanking and I think I did a bad, bad thing. Not that I think it can't be fixed with a replacement, but that I screwed up the stock part in the first place. I have a Taigen Tiger 1 with the V3 electronics that I bought a month ago and I love it. I love it enough that I upgraded the tracks, gearboxes, idlers, drive wheels, etc, and then I decided to upgrade my stock transmitter. I bought a Flysky FS-I6X kit to do that. I had all the PWM cables set up from the motherboard to the Flysky receiver, bound the tank to the new transmitter, and got it to work. Yay for me and all that I then only needed to assign everything on the transmitter to where I wanted them. Then stupidity struck. I decided to tinker around with moving the PWM cables around between the motherboard and the receiver (at one point with the tank powered on like a dummy), and then everything stopped working. The headlights no longer flash, the new receiver no longer powers on, and the original transmitter no longer binds to the tank. The fan on the motherboard gets power, but nothing operates any longer. Instinct kicked in and I started kicking my own butt. Logically I'm certain I blew out the motherboard. I have purchased a new one, but now my second and third thoughts have kicked in and I wonder if that was the right move. Anyone have any ideas to help a dumb noob out, please?
Last edited by jgm219 on Sun Oct 20, 2019 8:25 pm, edited 1 time in total.
I do believe I got you covered.
General Jumbo01
Warrant Officer 1st Class