HELP FOR NEW GUY

If you have a tank query and you can't find the answer anywhere else, post here. (TIP - Check for answers in FAQ, use the 'search' facility or even check this board before posting here).

Postby marbaja252 » Tue Mar 13, 2018 5:36 pm

I am new to this and am helping my 2 older boys. They got 2 HL basic tanks 1/16 for Christmas 1 tiger and 1 T34 both were around $100-$125 each. Both worked fine several times, but now tried to use the other day and neither will start up. I have replaced batteries in transmitter and the tanks batteries show charged, but no lights on the tanks when powered up. I have a bad feeling the boys charged the batteries too long or got plugs reversed and the batterys are shot. Any help or input would be great. Their is no help from HL that I can find. I am trying the forum route for help. Thanks.

marbaja252
Recruit
 
Posts: 22
Joined: Tue Mar 13, 2018 5:26 pm

Postby 43rdRecceReg » Tue Mar 13, 2018 6:45 pm

Were these brand new 2.4G versions? Set that aside one moment, it's actually quite difficult to get the battery connections crossed. Tamiya connectors are designed to make that practically impossible. The positive side has a square profile, and the negative has one side curved.
I guess, the typical charger supplied with the tanks won't have a warning light to indicate a full charge. At least that's how they used to be. That said, I'd hope that even budget chargers out to have some sort of overload feature...
to prevent overheating, and a possible meltdown.
If you have a multimeter, you can check for dcVolts. I just checked the 2000mAH battery that came with my Sherman, and I'm getting 7.6dcV. That's more enough on a 7.2v tank to get signs of life out of it. At the very least, the headlights should flash. A typical 2000mAh battery takes around 4-5 hours to charge with the unit supplied by HL. But what do you mean by 'Tanks batteries show charged'? Have you used a meter? If the batteries in the Transmitter were installed incorrectly, the lights would flash on the Tank when it is switched on, but the start button on the TX would have no effect on the tank. Nor, I imagine would you get a 'red light' when you switch it on.
More info needed..
~At least I don't think they can have done any real damage to the tanks... :) Should be a simple solution, if the boys can tell you what they actually did :shifty:. :D
Have the tanks been out in snow or rain? Just a thought...
User avatar
43rdRecceReg
2nd Lieutenant
 
Posts: 2948
Joined: Fri Jul 31, 2015 11:38 am
Location: North West Highlands, Scotland

Postby marbaja252 » Tue Mar 13, 2018 6:54 pm

The transmitter shows the red light when switched on. The charger supplied from HL will go from green light to a red until charge is full then back to green. Both batteries show green and I assume they are fully charged. I would have to check out put with volt meter tonight.

The crazy thing is both tanks are doing the same thing nothing, no lights when switched on, no starting up.

The info supplied with these tanks is so basic and no trouble shooting info if you run into problems.

Thanks for the input.

marbaja252
Recruit
 
Posts: 22
Joined: Tue Mar 13, 2018 5:26 pm

Postby rochesb » Tue Mar 13, 2018 7:01 pm

Maybe a dumb question, but have they swapped transmitters?
User avatar
rochesb
Lance Corporal
 
Posts: 113
Joined: Sat Nov 11, 2017 8:21 pm
Location: Tyne and Wear, England

Postby marbaja252 » Tue Mar 13, 2018 7:06 pm

Good point, the tiger has a light on the front & it does not even light up with switched on no matter what battery I install in it. With out checking with volt meter the batteries act like their dead.

The transmitters are different between them due to the cannon firing systems.

Thank you

marbaja252
Recruit
 
Posts: 22
Joined: Tue Mar 13, 2018 5:26 pm

Postby silversurfer1947 » Tue Mar 13, 2018 7:06 pm

rochesb wrote:Maybe a dumb question, but have they swapped transmitters?

My thoughts as well.
User avatar
silversurfer1947
2nd Lieutenant
 
Posts: 2460
Joined: Tue Oct 27, 2015 10:54 pm
Location: Bristol, UK

Postby marbaja252 » Tue Mar 13, 2018 7:26 pm

May have to step back and start all over from the beginning. Thanks

marbaja252
Recruit
 
Posts: 22
Joined: Tue Mar 13, 2018 5:26 pm

Postby marbaja252 » Tue Mar 13, 2018 7:33 pm

Good point, the batteries that came with these are very cheaply made and connections could be an issue. I have ordered 2 more batteries anyway. Will try more tonight when home. Thank you

marbaja252
Recruit
 
Posts: 22
Joined: Tue Mar 13, 2018 5:26 pm

Postby jarndice » Tue Mar 13, 2018 7:36 pm

Hi, It has been years since I used a Heng Long Control board and Transmitter But there was a right way and a wrong way to start them,
If I remember correctly you switch on the Tank First and then you switch on the transmitter, If not then it is Transmitter first and then the Tank.
You wont damage anything if you do it the wrong way round but it just wont work.
Shaun.

jarndice
Captain
 
Posts: 4695
Joined: Mon Sep 03, 2012 11:27 am
Location: the mountains of hertfordshire

Postby marbaja252 » Tue Mar 13, 2018 7:51 pm

Thanks guys, these have only been run inside not outside since it has been a snowy winter in Iowa. I will check the connections very closely tonight and see if that improves anything. It really should not be this hard you would think.

marbaja252
Recruit
 
Posts: 22
Joined: Tue Mar 13, 2018 5:26 pm

Postby 43rdRecceReg » Tue Mar 13, 2018 7:54 pm

Son of a gun-ner wrote:As you're getting a green light on the charger, I'd check the tanks connector first ;)

Following your earlier reasoning, Mick, one connector? Maybe, but still fairly unlikely. Two? Highly unlikely. ;) However, there is this thing with later Heng Longs...if I can wade though the Ching-List literary quicksand..of
'Code-binding' (As opposed the foot binding the Mandarin ladies used to indulge in.). It's possible that the transmitters need re-binding to the correct model. There's a small button on the bottom of the tank to set the frequency.
Maybe it's not on all tanks; but it's there to allocate frequencies when more than one tank is in use. Maybe they got muddled :eh: After all, imagine Louis' fine collection of Shermans all behaving like synchronised swimmers. :crazy:
I'll see if I can find the procedure...but it should be in the accompanying instructions.
So....
User avatar
43rdRecceReg
2nd Lieutenant
 
Posts: 2948
Joined: Fri Jul 31, 2015 11:38 am
Location: North West Highlands, Scotland

Postby 43rdRecceReg » Tue Mar 13, 2018 8:06 pm

Right, well no time to scan this. I'll just copy it verbatim from a manual:
"....Instruction on decoding confirmation:
Steps are:
1. Switch on the power of the transmitter and the tank, this time the power light on the transmitter will be ON, and the headlight of the tank will be flashing. Press the START key on on the transmitter and then press the decoding key "ST" at the base of the tank. The tank will start and send out starting sound and this means the decoding is successfully finished...."
I recall once having to rebind one of my Taigen tanks after battery change, so maybe it can happen with HL too. Once upon a time..HL was the legendary source of many irritating glitches. Apparently not so often these day... :wtf:
:)
User avatar
43rdRecceReg
2nd Lieutenant
 
Posts: 2948
Joined: Fri Jul 31, 2015 11:38 am
Location: North West Highlands, Scotland

Postby 43rdRecceReg » Tue Mar 13, 2018 8:13 pm

Son of a gun-ner wrote:Ah, BUT the transmitter shouldn't have any influence over the lights coming on on the tanks when they're switched on on the tanks, they should come on irrespective of the transmitter being turned on, they basically come on to show you have a working power connection, therefore although there could very well be a binding fault if the binding buttons have been fiddled with when trying to get the tanks to work, my money is backing that the fault is within the tank.

Mick.

Edit: heng long doesn't have a light switch on the transmitter. And now I've said all this after dinner I will have to make sure the latest versions do light up lol.


Ahem...don't you mean within BOTH tanks, Mick.. ;)
User avatar
43rdRecceReg
2nd Lieutenant
 
Posts: 2948
Joined: Fri Jul 31, 2015 11:38 am
Location: North West Highlands, Scotland

Postby capt midnight » Tue Mar 13, 2018 8:32 pm

I'm kind of hanging with the connector problem. I had a set that was not bound, but the tank lights still came on. Could possibly be a problem with one connector, then when swapping stuff back and forth, cause both the plugs to malfunction. I'd love to say that that little tidbit of information did not come from first hand experience! :{

Bill
User avatar
capt midnight
Corporal
 
Posts: 479
Joined: Wed Oct 28, 2015 5:22 am
Location: Southern Indiana

Postby 43rdRecceReg » Tue Mar 13, 2018 9:31 pm

Occam's razor would suggest Batteries as the usual prime culprit. I don't suppose that you tried connecting more exotic batteries to them with higher ratings than 7.2v, did you? They can probably take up to 9v, but might not like
the extra surge. High powered Li-Pos could possible cook a few components...if you're heading North of 10vdc..
If they've only had the stock batteries, just make sure they are outputting a voltage higher than 7.2vdc. Fully charged you should be getting around 7.6 or more, I'd guess.
Best of luck, anyway..and greetings to Iowa... :wave:
User avatar
43rdRecceReg
2nd Lieutenant
 
Posts: 2948
Joined: Fri Jul 31, 2015 11:38 am
Location: North West Highlands, Scotland

Postby marbaja252 » Tue Mar 13, 2018 9:43 pm

I will be checking that tonight and the connections. Thank you all the ideas. Always fun when getting into new hobbies. Was the same thing trying to fix things my full sized military collection.

marbaja252
Recruit
 
Posts: 22
Joined: Tue Mar 13, 2018 5:26 pm

Postby 43rdRecceReg » Tue Mar 13, 2018 9:50 pm

marbaja252 wrote: "... same thing trying to fix things my full sized military collection.

Now there's an intriguing little line.. :) Don't tell me you've got a Sherman out in the barn :lolno: :D
User avatar
43rdRecceReg
2nd Lieutenant
 
Posts: 2948
Joined: Fri Jul 31, 2015 11:38 am
Location: North West Highlands, Scotland

Postby marbaja252 » Tue Mar 13, 2018 10:18 pm

Yes guys the wife does not like the big trucks, but the kids and all the dads in the area think their awesome. You get more looks than a brand new Corvette Stingray Z06 when driving around.

marbaja252
Recruit
 
Posts: 22
Joined: Tue Mar 13, 2018 5:26 pm

Postby gp100 » Wed Mar 14, 2018 1:36 am

Stupid thought, but maybe they need to be rebound to the transmitters?

Might have done something that they are no longer recognizing the TX? Dunno..
User avatar
gp100
Private
 
Posts: 60
Joined: Fri Jan 12, 2018 12:44 pm

Postby 43rdRecceReg » Wed Mar 14, 2018 2:02 am

Son of a gun-ner wrote:Sorry Mr 43rd, couldn't resist, it was in Mr marbaja252's introduction thread, you wouldn't think that Shaun, myself or some others would have offered help without it ;)

And as my wife's just gone away I haven't got anyone here to irritate. . . .


Oh, dearie, dearie me... :/ I did see that, and it was just a wee leg pull, Mick..... :/ In your own words:.."don't assume...." etc..
As for irritants, if it's possible to live with haemorrhoids, it must be possible to live with you... :haha:
I'm beginning to sympathise with your spouse, though, about that yon... pain in the ane. :lolno: .. :D
User avatar
43rdRecceReg
2nd Lieutenant
 
Posts: 2948
Joined: Fri Jul 31, 2015 11:38 am
Location: North West Highlands, Scotland

Next

Return to General Questions

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Lo_Thar, Peter W and 6 guests