Surface radio for tank?

Discuss your radio gear here!
Despotes
Recruit

Surface radio for tank?

Post by Despotes »

Would a Spektrum DX5 Pro for example work for a tank?
My 1/6 scale Jagdpanther is still in progress.
43rdRecceReg
Major

Re: Surface radio for tank?

Post by 43rdRecceReg »

The Spektrum DX 6i works fine with armour, as it has two gimbals. One is assigned to the throttle and steering functions, whilst the other controls turret motion (if there is a turret, of course,), elevation of the cannon and firing- whether in IR of BB mode. I'm no expert of RC transmitters, but looks to me that while the Spektrum DX5 Pro can handle cars and trucks, it's short of the gimbal needed for turret functions. I say looks, as I have no experience of this type of control. :|
Maybe it has buttons, and they can be assigned to functions. :think: It does, after all, have five channels. Tanks can get away with a minimum of two channels, but most models use four. Avant garde tankers use many more. :D :thumbup:
https://www.spektrumrc.com/Products/Def ... D=SPMR5010
"Get your facts first, and then you can distort them as much as you please"- Mark Twain.
jarndice
Colonel

Post by jarndice »

I am not completely sure but I don't think the DX5/6i have any slider or rotary controls which makes controlling the volume from the sound chip difficult,
As these radios were originally designed for aircraft that was not a problem but land vehicles are a different matter.
I think I am about to upset someone :haha:
Tiger6
Warrant Officer 2nd Class

Post by Tiger6 »

To answer the question that was asked - no I don't think that radio is suitable.
Everybody I know uses a 2 stick radio, so for example the 'turret' functions (i.e. traverse and elevation of the gun) would be on one stick, and the drive would be on the other. Extra whistles and bells such as sounds and lights need extra channels, but that all depends on your individual set up.