Airbrushing Techniques

This board contains guides to painting and weathering, please post your tips, tricks and tutorials here.
silversurfer1947
Lieutenant

Airbrushing Techniques

Post by silversurfer1947 »

I am still a novice when it comes to airbrushing. I am using a Iwata Neo powered by a compressor with a tank and moisture trap. What I want to achieve is a clean but soft edge to my camouflage. I seem to be getting a lot of overspray and would like some idea of what pressure I should use. Also, the needle is set as far forward as it will go - is this right and what would be the effect of moving it back a little, please? How close should I be spraying from?
Richard
Tamiya Tiger 1, Taigen FlakPanzer IV,Torro M16 half-track, Tamiya Panther,WSN/Torro T34,Taigen M41 Bulldog,H/l/Taigen Sherman M4A3,H/L T90, Haya M3 Grant, Metal Origins 234/2 Puma, Nashorn by Alwyn. I was only going to have one tank - honest! :D
HERMAN BIX
Brigadier

Re: Airbrushing Techniques

Post by HERMAN BIX »

First off, I have no experience with the IWATA unit.
But, the consistent thing I get from needing to vary volume, width, and edging profile are

- paint viscosity
- trigger delivery setting (mine is adjustable for trigger setting allowing less or more paint when the trigger is on the stop)
- pressure setting. no more than 7 psi for fine work.
- distance from subject. This is a variable equation of all the above.

I always thin my Tamiya paint 50/50 with thinners.

I always set my trigger delivery at minimum, unless there is a requirement to cover a wider area(like a base coat)

Pressure at 7psi up to 15 depending on viscosity and coverage requirement.

I always have a sheet of copy paper handy to test-burst the setting onto before going to the subject .

There is no definitive setting as there are too many variables................

Best to start with minimum delivery capability, then adjust up............
Practice will make it.