Board for 1/10 3d printed is-1

Feel free to discuss anything and everything to do with tanking here!

Postby cupra313 » Wed Jul 01, 2020 6:37 pm

All right guys, i'm building a 3d printed 1/10 is-1 and i need a board to run it. I originally wanted the elmod board. Elmod told me that if it's under 10kgs it should work.I am still waiting on a definitive answer from Thomas at elmod though. Does anyone know of another board that can definitely run it? Because i ve spent way too much time on this one to fry on me! It will run on dual 550 motors with a 3s battery pulling 1.27amps with no load and around 4amps with load each,a regular size servo for turret rotation and a regular size servo for elevation and depresion. Weight will be around 7-8 kgs
Attachments
tu.jpg

cupra313
Recruit
 
Posts: 14
Joined: Sat Sep 01, 2018 5:06 pm

Postby RenoirLV » Wed Jul 01, 2020 6:46 pm

The turret looks very nice.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
User avatar
RenoirLV
Corporal
 
Posts: 258
Joined: Mon Jan 22, 2018 1:58 pm
Location: Riga, Latvia

Postby Son of a gun-ner » Wed Jul 01, 2020 6:55 pm

I know this one won't do, but with the larger tanks, don't they use something like this to control the motors.

Hopefully someone will be along who knows about these things.

Neuftech L298n dual H-bridge DC stepper motor controller dirve module for Arduino Raspberry Pi: Amazon.co.uk: Electronics
https://www.amazon.co.uk/Neuftech-H-bri ... 4848&psc=1
User avatar
Son of a gun-ner
TOTM Admin
 
Posts: 3782
Joined: Sun May 07, 2017 8:49 pm
Location: Surrey UK

Postby cupra313 » Wed Jul 01, 2020 7:09 pm

@renoirlv thank you very much!

@son of a gun-ner i need the functions of a proper board. I could simply use 2 esc s,hook em up to a 6 channel receiver and do the mixes on the tx. But that would just make the tank driveable. I need all the functions of a proper board. I just can t understand why the weight of the tank is so important. Elmod told me if it s 10kgs and over it wont work,if it s below it should work. Is it for the amp draw of the motors?? The bigger the motor the lower the amp draw. And my 550 pulls around 4 amps on my 15kgs truck. Also the elmod board has 2 10 amps escs

cupra313
Recruit
 
Posts: 14
Joined: Sat Sep 01, 2018 5:06 pm

Postby Son of a gun-ner » Wed Jul 01, 2020 7:15 pm

Yeah, it would be for the amp draw, and a heavier tank will push the motors to demand more.

I thought those drivers were for the drive motors, and the board sorts out the rest of the functions as per usual :think:
User avatar
Son of a gun-ner
TOTM Admin
 
Posts: 3782
Joined: Sun May 07, 2017 8:49 pm
Location: Surrey UK

Postby Son of a gun-ner » Wed Jul 01, 2020 7:28 pm

I can understand why Elmod are being cautious, because if they said it will be ok, and your board blew, they'd worry you could use it against them and maybe demand a refund or replacement.
User avatar
Son of a gun-ner
TOTM Admin
 
Posts: 3782
Joined: Sun May 07, 2017 8:49 pm
Location: Surrey UK

Postby cupra313 » Wed Jul 01, 2020 7:29 pm

In the same email elmod told me that if it s 10kgs or more,he doesn't recommend it,but answering my question for the motors and amp draw he said this should work but the internal fused must be changed from 10A to 20A.

I am a little confused,i admit it.

Also from the exact same motor i haven't seen an amp draw more than 4amps on a 8x8 15 kgs truck. Even if i double the draw the elmod has 10A constant controllers with 30A burst for each motor.

I dont know....

Edit: yeah,i can understand that and it s totally logical. I just need to understand in depth what the limitations are and if the weight is strictly related to the amp draw,given the above electronic "stats" of the board

cupra313
Recruit
 
Posts: 14
Joined: Sat Sep 01, 2018 5:06 pm

Postby Son of a gun-ner » Wed Jul 01, 2020 7:56 pm

The few chaps that understand these boards with heavier loads, are typically not online for a change.
User avatar
Son of a gun-ner
TOTM Admin
 
Posts: 3782
Joined: Sun May 07, 2017 8:49 pm
Location: Surrey UK

Postby jhamm » Wed Jul 01, 2020 7:59 pm

Hello,
you can use external ESC with the Elmod.
An alternative is the Clark TK-60 with 60A Current for each track driver
ask the user maxmekker - he sells clark electronics


60A
User avatar
jhamm
Corporal
 
Posts: 325
Joined: Fri May 19, 2017 7:21 am

Postby MITCH » Wed Jul 01, 2020 8:19 pm

Or you can use a Beier SFR1D, but it is expensive...
User avatar
MITCH
Private
 
Posts: 67
Joined: Thu May 30, 2019 10:24 am

Postby RenoirLV » Wed Jul 01, 2020 8:23 pm

By the way, I have a Tiger in 1/16 that weighs 7-7.5 kg. It’s running on Elmod FusionEco and 2s. Never had anything that resembles a board problem. At first the battery was cutting out at higher loads. Now I have a better battery with a higher C rating. Now it damages the tensioner or suspension. Once it broke off the pin on the drive shaft that secured the pinion. No fuse blowing on the board ever. I conclude the board is fine with all that setup.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
User avatar
RenoirLV
Corporal
 
Posts: 258
Joined: Mon Jan 22, 2018 1:58 pm
Location: Riga, Latvia

Postby Max-U52 » Wed Jul 01, 2020 8:51 pm

Have you seen what I did in my 1/6 Hetzer? I use a sabertooth for motor control and an IBU2 Pro handles the rest. It worked out very well, actually.
User avatar
Max-U52
Lieutenant
 
Posts: 3859
Joined: Sat Sep 12, 2015 8:56 pm
Location: Detroit

Postby cupra313 » Wed Jul 01, 2020 9:33 pm

@Jhamm yeah that is a definitive solution to the amp draw problem and a solution that i have forgotten about!That brings the total cost to 330+ euros though with 2 hobbywing 1080 esc s. I dont really like the clark board and that whole tv remote thing.

@MITCH the beier looks interesting and not extremely expensive. I ll have to look into it though,learn a little bit more about the board. How it is as far as physics simulation,sounds etc

@RenoirLV that is great to know!!!What size motors do you run? 340? Have you ever measure amperage draw on the motors?

@Max-U52 that sabertooth looks sweet! But if it can be paired with the elmod again brings the total cost to 350+ euros

I want to thank you all guys,this is a great community and you re very helpful and full of information! We almost solved it in just a couple of hours! My conclusion is that elmod board will work fine as is. And if the motors draw that much current,i ll just blow the fuse. Then get to external esc s and problem solved. Am i right? Can i finally put my mind at ease?

cupra313
Recruit
 
Posts: 14
Joined: Sat Sep 01, 2018 5:06 pm

Postby Max-U52 » Wed Jul 01, 2020 9:40 pm

There's one way to find out. Hook it up and hit the switch. Best of luck. 8)
User avatar
Max-U52
Lieutenant
 
Posts: 3859
Joined: Sat Sep 12, 2015 8:56 pm
Location: Detroit

Postby midlife306 » Thu Jul 02, 2020 2:06 am

You may be lucky & find an open panzer board


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
User avatar
midlife306
Warrant Officer 1st Class
 
Posts: 1964
Joined: Sun Aug 27, 2017 10:34 am

Postby Max-U52 » Thu Jul 02, 2020 3:02 am

midlife306 wrote:You may be lucky & find an open panzer board


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk


But be prepared to pay a premium price. The last one I saw for sale the asking price was about three times what HK was selling them for.
User avatar
Max-U52
Lieutenant
 
Posts: 3859
Joined: Sat Sep 12, 2015 8:56 pm
Location: Detroit

Postby jhamm » Thu Jul 02, 2020 8:14 am

... build your own Open Panzer TCB:
Five.jpg
User avatar
jhamm
Corporal
 
Posts: 325
Joined: Fri May 19, 2017 7:21 am

Postby RenoirLV » Thu Jul 02, 2020 8:19 am

I understand the motors are 390. Never measured amp draw.

BTW. Is there a way to tell what motors these are? Sometimes this 4:1 gearbox is said to have 380 motors.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
User avatar
RenoirLV
Corporal
 
Posts: 258
Joined: Mon Jan 22, 2018 1:58 pm
Location: Riga, Latvia

Postby jhamm » Thu Jul 02, 2020 9:05 am

Hi,
the Amp draw of a 380/390 under contionus Load is arround 4 -5 Amps .
Dangerous is the Stall current - it´s up to 20 Amps and more...
it is related to the number of poles and winding of the motor
User avatar
jhamm
Corporal
 
Posts: 325
Joined: Fri May 19, 2017 7:21 am

Postby RenoirLV » Thu Jul 02, 2020 9:15 am

Stall current is the draw when the tank gets stuck due to clogged tracks? If so I’ve had it many times. Nothing happened to my Elmod.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
User avatar
RenoirLV
Corporal
 
Posts: 258
Joined: Mon Jan 22, 2018 1:58 pm
Location: Riga, Latvia

Next

Return to General Discussion

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: tankme and 20 guests