Which control board--for ME?

Feel free to discuss anything and everything to do with tanking here!
tankgirlfuzzy
Recruit

Which control board--for ME?

Post by tankgirlfuzzy »

Sorry if this is the wrong place to post this but the electronics section is divided into subsections specific to each board, and I wanted to get the widest range of opinions from people familiar with all/many of them.

This is my first post, good to be here. I'm new to the current state of 1/16 but dabbled in some of the earlier generations (HL Panther [sold quickly], WSN T-34 [still have this, no one wanted it]) from almost 10 years ago. So I'm new to this hobby but not to RC or modeling.

I recently bought a HL King Tiger (metal tracks, sprockets, idlers, gearbox; basic airsoft version;I think 4th generation gold label 5.3; sold by toucan) as a diversion (more on that below) from my current big project involving 1/35 and RC, and though it's much nicer than what I had years ago, I detest the stock radio and horribly twitchy control. Sound is okay, didn't try the smoker (no interest and will probably remove), haven't tried the BBs yet. But I can't get past the transition from slow to rocket speeds. I put the plastic tracks back on for indoor use and the tank can actually drift Fast and Furious style on the smooth marble floors in the basement. And the radio is expectedly lousy. I'm used to fairly high end aircraft radios (been using Hitec Aurora 9 for years and used Spektrum DX7 before that; bought a Hitec Flash 8 specifically for my 1/35 project). I'm not used to driving with my right hand and want to switch modes so turret is on my right and drive function on left (I think it's my aircraft training, I just think of forward and left/right as throttle/rudder on the left).