Next Project; New Tiger I or Convert HL JP to IR

Feel free to discuss anything and everything to do with tanking here!
Glen B
Lance Corporal

Next Project; New Tiger I or Convert HL JP to IR

Post by Glen B »

I m looking at another tank project, likely beginning in Nov. (not that I am wishing the summer away 8O )

Our club is IR so the tank would be converted to IR with an SLU, regardless of the choice. It would also get 3:1 gearboxes. All markings to be stencilled.

Option One: Tiger I

My plan was to pick up a new Tiger I at the Toronto Hobby Show in Nov. (if Mato is there, if they are, prices are good there).

The Tiger would be done up in Abt. 506 colours. (love the emblem on the storage bin)

Option Two: Jagdpanther

A re-fit of my existing, neglected airsoft JP, converting to IR with all the stuff I listed above.

Considerations;

- I have not used a turretless tank in IR club battles, it may be frustrating?

- My speciality is east front panzers (thought I am not an expert in them); due to the chaotic conditions in January 1945 when JP's were first deployed in the east, there is not much solid historical information on the paint scheme for them; I am not a hard and fast rivit counter but I do like some authenticity.

To complete the decision process, the current IR tank "fleet" consists of;

2 Tiger I's (2nd SS & Abt 503) both pre-Kursk paint

1 King Tiger (Abt. 503, "Anneliese", Hungary, Oct 1944)

2 Panther G's (one in MNH green camo, 1945 & my latest in the "Lake Balaton" 1945 camo)
My childhood has not only been good,

It has been long, REAL long,
frantz70
Recruit

Re: Next Project; New Tiger I or Convert HL JP to IR

Post by frantz70 »

I don't battle so I'm no help with that Glen. But Jagdpanthers are cool.

I painted mine the solid green of Panzer Lehr Division, Hungary Spring 1945, but I have yet to finish it with markings.

Lots of wild camo patterns for late war Jagdpanthers.
Glen B
Lance Corporal

Post by Glen B »