Scratchbuilding C&Cs Mammoth Tank

This section is for builds that are not strictly Tamiya or Heng Long. For instance, replacing the electronics from a WSN or Matorro, or even a scratch-build.
Munty
Private

Scratchbuilding C&Cs Mammoth Tank

Post by Munty »

Hi guys, hope I'm not stretching the site too far beyond it's comfort zone as I'm looking to scratchbuild a 1:16 scale non-historical vehicle but I really need help preparing for it before I get started so I'm hoping help will be forthcoming!

I'm looking to build a tank from a computer game which is easy enough but I'd really like to make it RC and that's much more of a challenge as it's somewhere I've never been before... I have detailed plans so I know dimensions and such but sadly the nature of the project means I can't really use very many off the shelf items for the build. As an example I need tracks with a 70mm tread and as of right now I can't find any that big for sale!

As I'm a rookie here I'll start off with some very basic questions before I plow on with what I'm planning. To start with, I need to know what my options are regarding construction material and the same question with regard to hardware.

I have a 1:16 Tiger which I dismantled a while back to get an idea of components but I think I'll need more for this build. I'll be running 4 very large tracks so I'm thinking I'll probably need one gearbox for each but I'm here to ask for opinions on stuff like this because I'm sure you guys will know everything that I don't!

It is a very real possibility that making this model RC will be financially impossible for me but if that's the case I'd at least like to set it up so I can RC it at a later date. For now my primary concern is what can I build this thing from? So please let me have some options, it's going to be big but fairly blocky with no curves and lots of corners so should be very solid when finished whatever I use.

Thanks in advance, Tim