KT Weathering Disaster!!!

This board contains guides to painting and weathering, please post your tips, tricks and tutorials here.
Awins
Private

KT Weathering Disaster!!!

Post by Awins »

Help Please, Ive airbrushed my KT using Tamiya Acrylics with a decent matt finish. Im pleased with this given its my first time using an airbrush and completing my first model tank. Thought I would try to make a more realistic looking model by carrying out weathering using Vallejo Weathering Product Light Rust.
When applied to the paint its just seemed to be sucked into the surface and not flow like I expected. I tried to wash/ thin this out using a wet paint brush but it made matters much worse.
Since then I read that the matt painted surface should be 'varnished'!!!! in order for the weathering product to flow and be blended in. Surely a varnished surface will detract from the matt finish on my model and look wrong. Any help please guys.
I am not retreating, but simply advancing in another direction!!!
AlwynTurner
2nd Lieutenant

Re: KT Weathering Disaster!!!

Post by AlwynTurner »

Hi Awins, did the same with my Abrams ! ended up having to repaint most of the tank. I well advised by several experienced forum members that after painting you apply MATT varnish before weathering which should prevent the absorption problem you experienced. As they say 'you pay to learn' and in my case the price was a tedious repaint. Hope you get it sorted. Alwyn
YOU'RE NEVER TOO OLD TO HAVE A HAPPY CHILDHOOD!

Saladin scratchbuild, Matilda scratchbuild, Churchill scratchbuild, Crusader scratchbuild, M10 Achiĺles scratchbuild, Universal Carrier scratchbuild
billpe
Warrant Officer 2nd Class

Post by billpe »

Yeah, it's usually a good idea to apply a satin varnish over the base layer of paint to help with the capillary action and not have the enamels or oils affect the paint below.