Heng Long Tanks - Advanced Modifications

This section contains tips and tricks on building and running model vehicles. If you know any then post them here and if you need to find any, try your first search here.
Forum rules
This section is for posting helpful Tips and Tricks only. Questions need to be posted within general questions section viewforum.php?f=14
CanadianBulldog22
Recruit

Heng Long Tanks - Advanced Modifications

Post by CanadianBulldog22 »

Hello All,

Before I go into the list of recommended modificaitons I will briefly go into why I decided to put this thread together.

History

I have been working with RC cars since the early 90's, before brushless motors or even digital speed controllers existed. I have always been at the cutting edge of rc technology, my current 1/5 scale HPI 5T truck runs a liquid cooled, 7hp sensored brushless motor. Radiator, water pump and all.

I have an undergraduate degree in mechanical engineering and have been working as an industrial applications engineer for 4 years now.

Reasoning

Too many people across a wire scope of forums claim to have the best upgrades for your rc tank. Most of them are quite simply wrong, and have too much money to burn. I am putting this thread togehter to weed out the good modificaitons, from the ones that are a waste of time. Enjoy.

First Topic to follow....
Last edited by CanadianBulldog22 on Wed Nov 19, 2014 4:09 pm, edited 1 time in total.
CanadianBulldog22
Recruit

Topic #1 Rolling Friction

Reducing Rolling Friction

Any rotating parts biggest enemy is friction. If friction can be reduced, it helps across the board. Heng Long as a means of making these tanks inexpensive only supports the (10) load bearing wheels (inside the track, lower 5 on each side) with plastic. The plastic wheels rotate on small plastic bushings, this generates a large amount of friction that the drive motors must overcome, also at higher speed this generates heat.